It was my understanding, I have to look for it, that the tackle box is extended from the "middle lineman" NOT the snapper. I am pretty sure there was a bulletin on this last year after the rulebook was printed(can anyone help me on this?)
If I am correct, then he IS outside the tackle box.
Here is the appropriate memorandum:
NCAA Memorandum: Clarification of Blocking Zone and Blocking Below the Waist
Friday, September 04, 2009
Input from several head coaches and discussions among coordinators of officials have
drawn attention to the need for clarification of the blocking rules as they relate to
player safety. Experience in the summer scrimmages demonstrated that action which was
illegal in 2008 had inadvertently and unintentionally become legal through the way in
which the blocking zone and blocking below the waist are defined in the 2009-2010 rule
book. The clarification of the rules language below, which has the endorsement of the
coordinators of officials, is intended to clarify the committee’s intent regarding blocking
action that impacts the safety of the student athlete. This language appropriately frames
the blocking zone to account for an unbalanced line, and it also specifies in more detail
the restrictions for blocking below the waist by a player in the offensive backfield.
Clarification of Rule: Blocking Zone and Blocking Below The Waist
• Re-define blocking zone (2-3-6-a, FR-45)
“The blocking zone is a rectangle centered on the middle lineman of the offensive
formation and extending….”
(Bold-faced words replace “snapper”)
• Re-phrase the “crack-back” block rules (Rule 9-1-2-e-1 and 2, FR-117)
“1. Offensive linemen at the snap positioned more than seven yards from the middle
lineman of the offensive formation are prohibited…”
(Bold-faced words replace “snapper”)
“2. Backs at the snap positioned with the frame of their body completely outside the right
or left of the blocking zone or completely outside the frame of the body of the second
lineman from the middle lineman of the offensive formation in either direction toward
a sideline, or in motion at the snap…”
(Bold-faced words are new language)
Thank you for your attention to this information. If you have any questions regarding this
memorandum, please contact secretary-editor Rogers Redding (rredding@sec.org).
Mike Bellotti, Chair NCAA Football Rules Committee
Rogers Redding, Secretary rules-editor NCAA Football Rules Committee