Author Topic: Ball caught over end zone - driven back into field of play  (Read 5277 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline mccormicw

  • *
  • Posts: 295
  • FAN REACTION: +3/-4
Ball caught over end zone - driven back into field of play
« on: December 28, 2010, 12:11:49 PM »
The following ARs are very interesting.  If a receiver catches a pass at the 50 and is forced back to the 48 but does not down, I understand the logic of not giving him progress to the 50 unless he gets back there on his own.  However, it seems like the same play over the end zone but forced back to the one yard line should be at TD even if the runner doesnt go down.

AR 5-1-3-I. Airborne A1 receives a legal forward pass one yard within the opponent’s end zone. As A1 receives the ball, he is contacted by B1 and first comes to the ground with the catch at the one-yard line, where the ball is declared dead. RULING: Touchdown (Rule 8-2-1-a).

AR 5-1-3-II. Airborne A1 receives a legal forward pass one yard within Team B’s end zone. As A1 receives the ball, he is contacted by B1 and first comes to the ground, on his feet, with the catch at the one-yard line.  After he regains his balance, he runs and is downed at Team B’s five-yard line. RULING: Not a touchdown. Team A’s ball at the spot where the ball is declared dead.

Mark uk

  • Guest
Re: Ball caught over end zone - driven back into field of play
« Reply #1 on: December 28, 2010, 12:41:25 PM »
I don't see any contradiction in the complete set of AR5-1-3;

downed immediately - award yardage to point of first contact,

play continues - award yardage where play ends.

Offline TXMike

  • *
  • Posts: 8773
  • FAN REACTION: +229/-268
  • When you quit learning you quit living
Re: Ball caught over end zone - driven back into field of play
« Reply #2 on: December 28, 2010, 02:05:22 PM »
It is the concept of forward progress.  Just like a runner who is running forward, gets hit at the 50 and bounces backwards to the 45 where he falls to ground.  He gets progress to the 50.  But if he bounces backward and stays on his feet and then comes forward again, making it to the 48, he only hets progress to the 48.

Offline mccormicw

  • *
  • Posts: 295
  • FAN REACTION: +3/-4
Re: Ball caught over end zone - driven back into field of play
« Reply #3 on: December 28, 2010, 04:05:49 PM »
I know you are both right.  It just seems wrong to lose the touchdown just because a player didnt fall to the ground.  I would imagine the only reason we don't give progress at the spot of the catch for the play that happens outside the end zone is to give the receiver a chance to gain more yardage. 

MJT

  • Guest
Re: Ball caught over end zone - driven back into field of play
« Reply #4 on: December 28, 2010, 05:42:10 PM »
I know you are both right.  It just seems wrong to lose the touchdown just because a player didnt fall to the ground.  I would imagine the only reason we don't give progress at the spot of the catch for the play that happens outside the end zone is to give the receiver a chance to gain more yardage. 

No, the reason he doesn't get the progress is cuz he didn't go down so he doesn't get the forward progress. It is important to know how both of those AR's work, and call them accordingly. Good post to remind everyone of the difference again.

Offline James

  • *
  • Posts: 692
  • FAN REACTION: +7/-6
Re: Ball caught over end zone - driven back into field of play
« Reply #5 on: December 29, 2010, 05:40:08 AM »
Well, if he keeps his feet and goes forward again, than the forward progress wasn't stopped the first time, only interupted. If he doesn't go forward anymore then his forward progress is stopped.