NC was down by 3 late in the game with possession in FG range. After a running play that ended with :09 and no time outs remaining, NC QB tried to line up and snap and spike the ball to stop the clock. Immediately before the snap the place kicking team entered the field, they appeared confused, and tried and failed to exit the field. The QB managed to spike the ball with :01 left (replay confirmed this time remaining). After administering the 5 yards foul for illegal substitution, NC kicked the FG to tie as time expired. NC then won in OT.
Most people think that NC benefitted from their own foul. However, the rules were applied correctly I think, unless IP was more correct. The QB did manage to spike the ball with time left with or without considering the foul. Can anyone shed any light that makes me think otherwise? I am not an NCAA official, but I have been asked by a few friends to explain that situation.