Author Topic: Orange Bowl Safety  (Read 5425 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

RickKY

  • Guest
Orange Bowl Safety
« on: January 06, 2011, 01:11:25 PM »
Why is this not a horse collar tackle by B91?

[yt=425,350]yIr2KOyGr4Y&[/yt]

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yIr2KOyGr4Y&feature=related
« Last Edit: January 06, 2011, 01:34:44 PM by Grant - AR »

Offline jg-me

  • *
  • Posts: 416
  • FAN REACTION: +22/-4
Re: Orange Bowl Safety
« Reply #1 on: January 06, 2011, 01:16:57 PM »
Runner/potential passer never left tackle box.

Offline RedTD

  • *
  • Posts: 117
  • FAN REACTION: +5/-2
Re: Orange Bowl Safety
« Reply #2 on: January 06, 2011, 01:20:35 PM »
What gj-me said and it was not an "immediate pulling" of the jersey opening.

Offline Atlanta Blue

  • *
  • Posts: 3781
  • FAN REACTION: +160/-71
Re: Orange Bowl Safety
« Reply #3 on: January 06, 2011, 01:46:13 PM »
Don't know why the R threw a flag, there was no foul by #53.  Reaction instead of thinking.

But what in the world was #53 doing back there anyway?

And yes, his catch was also reaction instead of thinking.  Obviously, it would have been a lot smarter to let that ball fall to the ground.

Offline With_Two_Flakes

  • *
  • Posts: 439
  • FAN REACTION: +5/-2
  • British American Football Referees Association
Re: Orange Bowl Safety
« Reply #4 on: January 06, 2011, 01:55:55 PM »
9-1-2-p last sentence...
This does not apply to a ball carrier, including a potential passer, who is inside the tackle box.

R flagged it as he saw a pass caught by an ineligible numbered player (#53). He wasn't to know what had caused that ball to come back to #53, it might've bounced off a Team A player. He was told by the U that the ball was touched by a Team B player thus making all players (including #53) eligible. Indeed his excellent announcement said exactly that. Amazingly the TV talking heads got it right (before the announcement).
Sorry Death, you lose! It was Professor Plum....

RickKY

  • Guest
Re: Orange Bowl Safety
« Reply #5 on: January 07, 2011, 07:07:56 AM »
I was not sure how the HC rule differed from NFHS.  Thanks for clarifying it.