Author Topic: Kicking  (Read 10583 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Yellow Flag

  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • FAN REACTION: +2/-0
Kicking
« on: August 27, 2011, 11:48:46 AM »
K lines up for a free kick at their 40. K12 attempts to onside kick, but kicked the edge of the ball which spins to the 41 yard line (only 1 yard). K12 then kicks the ball the second time which rolls 10 more yards and is down by R. Penalty????

Online Kalle

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3414
  • FAN REACTION: +114/-35
Re: Kicking
« Reply #1 on: August 27, 2011, 12:01:02 PM »
NCAA: this is illegally kicking the ball. Penalty is 10 yards from the basic spot, which would be the previous spot as this is a legal kick play. Team B most likely declines the penalty, 1st and 10 for team B at B-49.

Offline Hawkeye

  • *
  • Posts: 446
  • FAN REACTION: +17/-2
Re: Kicking
« Reply #2 on: August 27, 2011, 12:22:16 PM »
Actually, team B will most likely accept the penalty and have it tacked on at the recovery spot 

Online Kalle

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3414
  • FAN REACTION: +114/-35
Re: Kicking
« Reply #3 on: August 27, 2011, 12:54:19 PM »
Actually, team B will most likely accept the penalty and have it tacked on at the recovery spot

Of course. It shows that I've cut down on actual on the field work...

Offline Yellow Flag

  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • FAN REACTION: +2/-0
Re: Kicking
« Reply #4 on: August 27, 2011, 02:57:11 PM »
What about NFHS?

Offline NoVaBJ

  • *
  • Posts: 128
  • FAN REACTION: +11/-8
Re: Kicking
« Reply #5 on: August 27, 2011, 03:04:15 PM »
What about NFHS?

Illegal kick.  Basic spot is the previous spot, the K40.  If accepted, the fifteen-yard penalty will be enforced from the K40 to the K25 for another free kick.  If declined, R will take possession at the dead ball spot.  There is no option to tack on to the recovery.

mbyron

  • Guest
Re: Kicking
« Reply #6 on: August 27, 2011, 07:08:28 PM »
+1 Illegal kick: 2-24-9

Offline mishatx

  • *
  • Posts: 653
  • FAN REACTION: +28/-11
  • Free Agent
Re: Kicking
« Reply #7 on: August 27, 2011, 08:55:57 PM »
Does the receiving team have the option of taking the ball at the 41, as the spot of illegal/first touching?

El Macman

  • Guest
Re: Kicking
« Reply #8 on: August 27, 2011, 10:26:24 PM »
Does the receiving team have the option of taking the ball at the 41, as the spot of illegal/first touching?

NCAA - Yes, they would. They'd have to decline then penalty (because the spot of illegal touching is not the spot where the dead-ball belongs to B), but that's still more advantageous.

Online Kalle

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3414
  • FAN REACTION: +114/-35
Re: Kicking
« Reply #9 on: August 28, 2011, 01:37:52 AM »
NCAA - Yes, they would. They'd have to decline then penalty (because the spot of illegal touching is not the spot where the dead-ball belongs to B), but that's still more advantageous.

Actually, in this case they end up being the same spot (A-41), but you're absolutely right, they can take the illegal touch which might be advantageous in other situations.

El Macman

  • Guest
Re: Kicking
« Reply #10 on: August 28, 2011, 08:41:45 AM »
Actually, in this case they end up being the same spot (A-41), but you're absolutely right, they can take the illegal touch which might be advantageous in other situations.

Yes - I had 'tunnel vision' on a 5-yard penalty, such as a kick out of bounds or offside, which are the most common add-ons.

Offline Yellow Flag

  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • FAN REACTION: +2/-0
Re: Kicking
« Reply #11 on: August 28, 2011, 09:04:42 AM »
"Illegal kick.  Basic spot is the previous spot, the K40.  If accepted, the fifteen-yard penalty will be enforced from the K40 to the K25 for another free kick.  If declined, R will take possession at the dead ball spot.  There is no option to tack on to the recovery."

NoVaBJ

That's what I thought, but I can not find it in the rule/case book. Could you help me out? Thanks
« Last Edit: August 28, 2011, 09:08:02 AM by Yellow Flag »

mbyron

  • Guest
Re: Kicking
« Reply #12 on: August 28, 2011, 09:21:09 AM »
There's no case covering this play. The ruling is based on multiple provisions, one of which I've already given you. You must piece them together to get this ruling.

2-24-9 defines an illegal kick (anything other than a kickoff, place kick, drop kick, or punt is illegal).

The basic spot for a loose ball play is the previous spot: 2-41-1.

The penalty for illegal kick is 15 yards: 9-7 PENALTY.

Enforcement is standard under 10-1.

Offline bama_stripes

  • *
  • Posts: 3145
  • FAN REACTION: +124/-29
Re: Kicking
« Reply #13 on: August 29, 2011, 07:25:09 AM »
NFHS: Are we in agreement that K is guilty of both illegal kicking AND first touching on this play?