Author Topic: #52 in backfield goes downfield for pass  (Read 2884 times)

Offline cbrunnjo

  • *
  • Posts: 148
  • FAN REACTION: +0/-0
#52 in backfield goes downfield for pass
« on: September 10, 2011, 02:14:03 PM »
Can a number 52 line up in the back field and go out for and catch a pass, in HS football? Let's say it was 2 and 15.
If he can't do this what would be the foul?

« Last Edit: September 10, 2011, 02:20:47 PM by cbrunnjo »

Offline FBUmp

  • *
  • Posts: 546
  • FAN REACTION: +77/-38
Re: #52 in backfield goes downfield for pass
« Reply #1 on: September 10, 2011, 02:34:39 PM »
No, he can't.

Illegal touching.

Offline Atlanta Blue

  • *
  • Posts: 3781
  • FAN REACTION: +160/-71
Re: #52 in backfield goes downfield for pass
« Reply #2 on: September 10, 2011, 09:33:33 PM »
It's foul even if he doesn't touch it: Ineligible Receiver Downfield, assuming the pass crosses the LOS.

NAUmp

  • Guest
Re: #52 in backfield goes downfield for pass
« Reply #3 on: September 10, 2011, 09:48:32 PM »
And OPI if he interferes with B's opportunity to catch the pass! pi1eOn

Offline FBUmp

  • *
  • Posts: 546
  • FAN REACTION: +77/-38
Re: #52 in backfield goes downfield for pass
« Reply #4 on: September 10, 2011, 11:20:41 PM »
And OPI if he interferes with B's opportunity to catch the pass! pi1eOn

And a 15 yard face mask penalty if he grabs B's face mask and twists it!   ::)

takemeaway10

  • Guest
Re: #52 in backfield goes downfield for pass
« Reply #5 on: September 11, 2011, 07:31:23 AM »
They make it easy in high school. You must be eligible by position and by number.

Wingman

  • Guest
Re: #52 in backfield goes downfield for pass
« Reply #6 on: September 11, 2011, 06:36:41 PM »
Well, it's almost easy..  until the team employs the numbering exception and they try some shifting to confuse the defense (and the officials) as to who are the eligible receivers.

(dang it..  hit enter).

In this case posting..  it doesn't matter what position #52 is playing..  He is an ineligible receiver at the snap simply because of the number he is wearing.
« Last Edit: September 11, 2011, 06:38:54 PM by THeisey »

Offline Tom.OH

  • *
  • Posts: 335
  • FAN REACTION: +4/-0
Re: #52 in backfield goes downfield for pass
« Reply #7 on: September 11, 2011, 07:44:50 PM »
Well, it's almost easy..  until the team employs the numbering exception and they try some shifting to confuse the defense (and the officials) as to who are the eligible receivers.

(dang it..  hit enter).

In this case posting..  it doesn't matter what position #52 is playing..  He is an ineligible receiver at the snap simply because of the number he is wearing.

...but they let us do it last week...
"Outside of a dog, a book is man's best friend. And inside of a dog, it's to dark to read."
Groucho Marx

Offline cbrunnjo

  • *
  • Posts: 148
  • FAN REACTION: +0/-0
Re: #52 in backfield goes downfield for pass
« Reply #8 on: September 13, 2011, 02:29:55 PM »
LMAo - How did you know the coach said well they left us do it last week? I simple said well coach I can't control what happened last week all I can control is what happens this week and I guarantee that is illegal and if you run it this week we will flag it.

FredFan7

  • Guest
Re: #52 in backfield goes downfield for pass
« Reply #9 on: September 13, 2011, 08:58:04 PM »
#52 can line up in the backfield, take a handoff and run with the ball. 

He cannot go out for a pass.  If the coach screams, "HE REPORTED (HAS TO REPORT)," just say, "That's on Sunday, coach."

Offline Atlanta Blue

  • *
  • Posts: 3781
  • FAN REACTION: +160/-71
Re: #52 in backfield goes downfield for pass
« Reply #10 on: September 13, 2011, 09:18:16 PM »
#52 can line up in the backfield, take a handoff and run with the ball. 

Just make sure's it's not a forward handoff.


Offline bama_stripes

  • *
  • Posts: 2203
  • FAN REACTION: +69/-24
Re: #52 in backfield goes downfield for pass
« Reply #11 on: September 14, 2011, 07:27:13 AM »
Just make sure's it's not a forward handoff.

Why?  As long as it's behind the NZ, it's legal.

Offline Atlanta Blue

  • *
  • Posts: 3781
  • FAN REACTION: +160/-71
Re: #52 in backfield goes downfield for pass
« Reply #12 on: September 14, 2011, 08:20:46 AM »
Why?  As long as it's behind the NZ, it's legal.

That's true, he was never a lineman.  Confused those rules.  Sorry!