Is K not responsible for the ball (kick) going into their own endzone?
REPLY: Regarding Atlanta Blue's comment about K just falling on the ball in the end zone, Ump33 is correct. The force that put the ball into K's endzone was the kick (since you can't add force to a kick in flight). So it is
not a touchback if K falls on it there. What is it then? Although it first appears that we might have two rules in conflict,
this would result in a safety. In fact there's a similar case play:
8.5.1 SITUATION C: A scrimmage kick by K1 from his own end zone is muffed
in flight beyond the neutral zone by R1 and rebounds into the end zone where it
is recovered by K2. The ball becomes dead in the end zone when K2 is tackled
there.
RULING: This is a safety because the force which put the ball into the end
zone was still the kick by K1. R will be awarded 2 points and K will free kick from
K’s 20-yard line. (8-5-2b)