I know this question was asked on the NCAA board, but the asking official is from Kansas. Not sure if he asking about FED or NCAA rules.
In FED rules, yes, the kick must both touch the ground AND go 10 yards before the kicking team can recover it (unless it is touched by R). These two things can happen in either order. If K touches the ball before it hits the ground, it is Kick Catching Interference. If it hits the ground but has not gone 10 yards, it's First Touching.
Jason and NVFOA Ump gave you the correct answer for NCAA rules, but this rule is different in FED.