I disagree. The defender has the right to tackle the ball carrier until the ball carrier becomes a kicker (after the ball carrier kicks the ball).
Best regards,
Brad
Disagree if you would like, but the rule specifically says, "when it is obvious a kick is going to be made".
If the punter is rolling out like a rugby punt, then yes, he is a ball carrier because it isn't "obvious" a kick is going to be made.
But in a case like this, the rule is not meant to differentiate between the instant when a punter releases the ball and raises his foot, and when contact is actually made. It was "obvious" a kick was going to be made, and the "kicker" is protected.
The rusher had an easy way to avoid a foul here: touch the ball. He chose not to do that, but to aim for an obvious punter. That's RTK.