Author Topic: Legal Shift  (Read 7388 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline BoBo

  • *
  • Posts: 227
  • FAN REACTION: +1/-1
Legal Shift
« on: September 30, 2011, 01:07:10 PM »
Local coach wanted this posted

Tight End trade question.  When a tight end starts on the line and the receiver is off.  Then the TE steps off, rec steps on so the TE can go in motion.
My question is, can the TE have his hand on the ground and then come out of his stance.  I was under the impression that once his hand is on the ground, he can’t come up.
What is the rule?

Offline bama_stripes

  • *
  • Posts: 3145
  • FAN REACTION: +124/-29
Re: Legal Shift
« Reply #1 on: September 30, 2011, 02:05:08 PM »
Local coach wanted this posted

Tight End trade question.  When a tight end starts on the line and the receiver is off.  Then the TE steps off, rec steps on so the TE can go in motion.
My question is, can the TE have his hand on the ground and then come out of his stance.  I was under the impression that once his hand is on the ground, he can’t come up.
What is the rule?

Where did you get that impression?

The TE is only restricted if he's an interior lineman ("covered up").

FED 7-7-(c):  It is a false start if any A player on his line between the snapper and the player on the end of
his line, after having placed a hand(s) on or near the ground, moves his
hand(s) or makes any quick movement.

Offline Curious

  • *
  • Posts: 1314
  • FAN REACTION: +36/-50
Re: Legal Shift
« Reply #2 on: September 30, 2011, 03:29:03 PM »
Bama's right.  In the OP, the TE is not restricted because his hand is "on the ground".

However, this simple little play could have some wrinkles.

First, we'll assume it was NOT 4th down - where there are restrictions against shifting from an initial ineligible position into an eligible position if the numbering exception is being used (7-2-7b EXC).

Then, the TE must establish himself as a back by stopping for a second (before going in motion).  Case Book Plays 7.1.7D and 7.2.5B cover the eligibility and restricted lineman issues.

Offline FBUmp

  • *
  • Posts: 546
  • FAN REACTION: +77/-38
Re: Legal Shift
« Reply #3 on: October 01, 2011, 09:31:24 AM »
Local coach wanted this posted

Tight End trade question.  When a tight end starts on the line and the receiver is off.  Then the TE steps off, rec steps on so the TE can go in motion.
My question is, can the TE have his hand on the ground and then come out of his stance.  I was under the impression that once his hand is on the ground, he can’t come up.
What is the rule?

BoBo, the player on the end of the line is not restricted when placing his hand on the ground.  He can lift it and shift.  The rule book doesn't recognize a tight end.  He's just an end.