Author Topic: From the "officials"  (Read 9518 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Wettstein

  • Guest
From the "officials"
« on: October 01, 2011, 04:14:02 PM »
Hey guys - a coach here, not official.  Subject line in jest.  But anyway, I need clarification on a call.

In game today, official calls block in back on right tackle on line of scrimmage.  I questioned the 3 yard zone rule.  His answer, "that only applies before the snap"?  Huh?  I couldn't understand how a 3 yard zone would exist "before" a snap without us being offside  So after the game I asked for clrification.  He then stated the 3 yd zone only applies at the instant the snap is made and does not continue after that.

Methinks he is confused.  Can someone here tell me the rule?


Offline FBUmp

  • *
  • Posts: 546
  • FAN REACTION: +77/-38
Re: From the "officials"
« Reply #1 on: October 01, 2011, 04:27:55 PM »
What he was trying to say is the free blocking zone only exists until the ball leaves the zone.  95% of the time, that occurs within a couple of seconds after the snap.

Once the ball leaves the FBZ, the zone no longer exists and FBZ blocking rules no longer apply.

Offline HLinNC

  • *
  • Posts: 3491
  • FAN REACTION: +133/-24
Re: From the "officials"
« Reply #2 on: October 01, 2011, 04:31:21 PM »
SECTION 17 FREE-BLOCKING ZONE — LEGAL BLOCKING BELOW
THE WAIST, LEGAL CLIPPING, LEGAL BLOCK IN THE BACK
ART. 1 . . . The free-blocking zone is a rectangular area extending laterally 4
yards either side of the spot of the snap and 3 yards behind each line of
scrimmage. A player is in the free-blocking zone when any part of his body is in
the zone at the snap.
ART. 2 . . . Blocking below the waist is permitted in the free-blocking zone
when the following conditions are met:
a. All players involved in the blocking are on the line of scrimmage and in the
zone at the snap.
b. The contact is in the zone.
ART. 3 . . . Clipping is permitted in the free-blocking zone when the following
conditions are met:
a. By offensive linemen who are on the line of scrimmage and in the zone at
the snap.
b. Against defensive players who are on the line of scrimmage and in the zone
at the snap.
c. The contact is in the zone.
ART. 4 . . . Blocking in the back is permitted in the free-blocking zone when the
following conditions are met:
a. By offensive linemen who are on the line of scrimmage and in the zone at
the snap.
b. Against defensive players who are in the zone at the snap.
c. The contact is in the zone.

ART. 5 . . . The free-blocking zone disintegrates and the exception for a player
to block below the waist and/or the exception for an offensive lineman to clip
and/or block in the back is not to continue after the ball has left the zone.

Wettstein

  • Guest
Re: From the "officials"
« Reply #3 on: October 01, 2011, 04:36:18 PM »
Perhaps - but the flag came out before the qb made the handoff - so I don't think he meant that.

Offline FBUmp

  • *
  • Posts: 546
  • FAN REACTION: +77/-38
Re: From the "officials"
« Reply #4 on: October 01, 2011, 08:49:19 PM »
So, a hand to hand snap was made, the defender had time to move so that his back was to the blocker, the block was made, the flag was thrown, and ALL this occurred before the ball was handed off.  You must have the slowest QB in the history of the game. :)

I'm not saying the call was right or wrong.  I'm just attempting to explain what it would seem he was trying to say.  In the heat of the moment, things don't always come out like they should.

busman

  • Guest
Re: From the "officials"
« Reply #5 on: October 04, 2011, 09:52:03 AM »
If it was an I formation, seven yards deep,  the ball had left the zone.

Offline GoodScout

  • *
  • Posts: 496
  • FAN REACTION: +17/-12
Re: From the "officials"
« Reply #6 on: October 04, 2011, 10:05:30 AM »
To clarify, if your QB was in a shotgun set, the block would have to be right at the snap. Low blocks, blocks from behind, etc. that are legal in a FBZ are illegal unless done immediately at the shotgun snap, since the ball is presumed to leave the FBZ almost immediately.

busman

  • Guest
Re: From the "officials"
« Reply #7 on: October 05, 2011, 04:04:27 PM »
We have been advised that in shotgun set, the linemen can't beat the snap, so there is no FBZ.  Now, in pistol, there is since the QB is closer to the line.

Offline FBUmp

  • *
  • Posts: 546
  • FAN REACTION: +77/-38
Re: From the "officials"
« Reply #8 on: October 05, 2011, 04:33:07 PM »
We have been advised that in shotgun set, the linemen can't beat the snap, so there is no FBZ.  Now, in pistol, there is since the QB is closer to the line.

That would be in direct conflict with the NFHS Case Book.

Offline SanDiegoStryker

  • *
  • Posts: 100
  • FAN REACTION: +0/-0
Re: From the "officials"
« Reply #9 on: October 05, 2011, 06:33:30 PM »
That would be in direct conflict with the NFHS Case Book.

That's what my association says too. If the offense is in shotgun, no low blocks are allowed.

mbyron

  • Guest
Re: From the "officials"
« Reply #10 on: October 05, 2011, 06:38:52 PM »
That's what my association says too. If the offense is in shotgun, no low blocks are allowed.
I guess some associations have a stronger grasp on the rules than the NFHS Case Book.  ::)

Offline BIG UMP

  • *
  • Posts: 240
  • FAN REACTION: +10/-1
Re: From the "officials"
« Reply #11 on: October 07, 2011, 09:18:24 AM »
I guess some associations have a stronger grasp on the rules than the NFHS Case Book.  ::)

Here here.  In shotgun linemen have to be able to complete blocks that have begun.  They can't be expected to stop a block that is low or in the back.
Big Ump


"EVERY JOB IS A SELF-PORTRAIT OF THE PERSON WHO DID IT.  AUTOGRAPH YOUR WORK WITH EXCELLENCE."~unknown