Hey folks,
Been roaming the rulebook looking for new adventures ;-)
Consider these ARs AR 6.3.2 to clarify rule 10-2-5-a-2:
III. Team A’s punt goes beyond the neutral zone and is first touched by A80,
then picked up by B40, who runs five yards and fumbles. A20 picks up
the fumble and scores. During A20’s run, B70 holds. RULING: Fiveand
10-yard penalties are not administered on the try or the succeeding
kickoff. The penalty for Team B’s foul is declined by rule. The ball
belongs to Team B at the spot of illegal touching (Rule 10-2-5-a-2).
IV. Team A’s punt goes beyond the neutral zone and is first touched by A80,
then picked up by B40, who runs five yards and fumbles. B70 holds
during B40’s run. A20 picks up the fumble and scores. RULING: Fiveand
10-yard penalties are not administered on the try or the succeeding
kickoff. The penalty for Team B’s foul may be enforced, per Rule 5-2-4.
The ball belongs to Team B, either at the spot of illegal touching if Team
A declines the penalty, or at the spot resulting from enforcement of the
penalty (Rule10-2-5-a-2).
Okay, I'm trying to get my head around this.
So it's during which related run the foul occurs.
In III it's during A's run ending in a TD meaning the penalty is declined by rule.
Now imagine III, but now A20 is tackled at the B-1.
So 10-2-5-a-2 no longer applies. The penalty is NOT declined by rule, meaning that A has the option to (and will) accept this penalty, which cancels the illegal touching violation.
And will leave the ball (all-but-one) for A 1st&goal at B-1/2 y line ?
I must be missing something , please help!