I should probably have a cup of coffay before I start to think in the morning because this one popped into my head as I was getting ready for work: "Is there ever a scenario where you can have, or has anyone ever actually penalized, roughing the passer against the offensive team? Here's the situation I was thinking about:
2/10 B30. A10 drops back to pass and throws to the B20 where the ball is intercepted by LB B57. Knowing that he is a slow runner, he decides to throw a backwards pass across the field to his CB B2 who advances the ball to the A32 where he is tackled. B57, after throwing the pass does not move to block, run, etc. but 1 second after he releases the ball, he is blasted by A69 and driven into the ground. Could you potentially tack on 15 for this?
The rule 9-1-9 states in the first few words that "Ne DEFENSIVE player shall charge into a passer...when it is obvious the ball has been thrown." After the INT, the offensive and defensive tags would switch sides, correct?