Author Topic: Roughing the Passer by "Offense?"  (Read 9609 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline clearwall

  • *
  • Posts: 758
  • FAN REACTION: +14/-13
Roughing the Passer by "Offense?"
« on: October 06, 2011, 08:14:57 AM »
I should probably have a cup of coffay before I start to think in the morning because this one popped into my head as I was getting ready for work: "Is there ever a scenario where you can have, or has anyone ever actually penalized, roughing the passer against the offensive team? Here's the situation I was thinking about:

2/10 B30. A10 drops back to pass and throws to the B20 where the ball is intercepted by LB B57. Knowing that he is a slow runner, he decides to throw a backwards pass across the field to his CB B2 who advances the ball to the A32 where he is tackled. B57, after throwing the pass does not move to block, run, etc.  but 1 second after he releases the ball, he is blasted by A69 and driven into the ground. Could you potentially tack on 15 for this?

The rule 9-1-9 states in the first few words that "Ne DEFENSIVE player shall charge into a passer...when it is obvious the ball has been thrown." After the INT, the offensive and defensive tags would switch sides, correct?
« Last Edit: October 06, 2011, 08:16:48 AM by clearwall »

Offline TXMike

  • *
  • Posts: 8773
  • FAN REACTION: +229/-268
  • When you quit learning you quit living
Re: Roughing the Passer by "Offense?"
« Reply #1 on: October 06, 2011, 08:20:05 AM »
If memory serves, a situation much like ths was posed to RR after we heard of the rule change.  His response was the change was made to protect the passer who had just barely crossed the line of scrimmage before being hit.  It was not intended to protect Team B.

Offline clearwall

  • *
  • Posts: 758
  • FAN REACTION: +14/-13
Re: Roughing the Passer by "Offense?"
« Reply #2 on: October 06, 2011, 08:21:25 AM »
I was kind of thinking the response would be something like that. Yeah, technically it COULD BE illegal, but you would never actually call it.

Offline Andrew McCarthy

  • *
  • Posts: 1010
  • FAN REACTION: +21/-6
Re: Roughing the Passer by "Offense?"
« Reply #3 on: October 06, 2011, 08:47:43 AM »
Still only applies to a forward pass.

Offline Reverend30

  • *
  • Posts: 41
  • FAN REACTION: +1/-2
  • NVFOA/EAIFO (Mass.)
Re: Roughing the Passer by "Offense?"
« Reply #4 on: October 06, 2011, 10:40:03 AM »
HOWEVER, I think there's discretion here to have a personal foul:

9-1-12-b:  No player shall run into or throw himself against an opponent obviously out
of the play either before or after the ball is dead.

If it's a true "one second" after the pass has been thrown, he may be defenseless and "obviously out of the play".

Offline NVFOA_Ump

  • *
  • Posts: 4174
  • FAN REACTION: +107/-328
  • High School (MA & RI)
    • Massachusetts Independent Football Officials Association
Re: Roughing the Passer by "Offense?"
« Reply #5 on: October 06, 2011, 11:37:08 AM »
I'd agree with Rev30 here.  If the hit on the "passer" comes after he clearly is no longer the runner, and he is now obviously out of the play based on our judgment, we could call a PF based on the level of contact.
It's easy to get the players, getting 'em to play together, that's the hard part. - Casey Stengel

Offline JasonTX

  • *
  • Posts: 2985
  • FAN REACTION: +113/-59
Re: Roughing the Passer by "Offense?"
« Reply #6 on: October 06, 2011, 11:49:14 AM »
To continue with with what NVFOA_Ump posted, we also need to make sure to remember that if you flag this for a personal foul that it will not be added to the end of the play, but instead it will be added to the end of the related run, which in this play would be from the spot of the backwards pass.

Offline Kalle

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3414
  • FAN REACTION: +114/-35
Re: Roughing the Passer by "Offense?"
« Reply #7 on: October 06, 2011, 12:08:53 PM »
Depending whether or not B2 has caught the ball by the time the foul occurs. If he has caught the ball, the penalty will be enforced from the end of B2's run.

Offline clearwall

  • *
  • Posts: 758
  • FAN REACTION: +14/-13
Re: Roughing the Passer by "Offense?"
« Reply #8 on: October 06, 2011, 02:11:47 PM »
If yall can come up with a better example of a situation where you COULD call this, let me know. I was asking more for "could this happen and if so, when" sort of thing, so if you can think of something...

Offline Rulesman

  • Past Keeper of the Keys
  • Refstripes Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 3839
  • FAN REACTION: +65535/-2
  • Live like tomorrow never comes.
Re: Roughing the Passer by "Offense?"
« Reply #9 on: October 06, 2011, 09:59:03 PM »
Off the subject, but I saw a play last week that will make you think. QB A10 throws a legal forward pass that is batted in the air by B77. A10 catches the batted ball and is immediately tackled by B55. Roughing the passer? I think not...
"Gentlemen, we are going to relentlessly chase perfection, knowing full well we will not catch it, because nothing is perfect. But we are going to relentlessly chase it, because in the process we will catch excellence. I am not remotely interested in just being good."
- Vince Lombardi

wingnut

  • Guest
Re: Roughing the Passer by "Offense?"
« Reply #10 on: October 06, 2011, 10:59:10 PM »
If yall can come up with a better example of a situation where you COULD call this, let me know. I was asking more for "could this happen and if so, when" sort of thing, so if you can think of something...
It is not possible to have roughing the passer after a backward pass.  The passer is the player who thows a forward pass.  2-27-5




Offline clearwall

  • *
  • Posts: 758
  • FAN REACTION: +14/-13
Re: Roughing the Passer by "Offense?"
« Reply #11 on: October 07, 2011, 08:15:04 AM »
Thanks wingnut, very good find.

Offline Hawkeye

  • *
  • Posts: 446
  • FAN REACTION: +17/-2
Re: Roughing the Passer by "Offense?"
« Reply #12 on: October 09, 2011, 02:19:08 PM »
First, let's assume that the play included a forward pass by team B after the COP.  If you have roughing the passer after a COP, then the pass is an illegal pass, so the roughing the passer would put us into a "clean hands" situation potentially (10-1-4 exception).

2 scenarios:
1. Team B did not foul prior to gaining possession - they decline team A's penalty and have their illegal pass penalty enforced. Result: team B's ball.

2. Team B fouled prior to gaining possession - "clean hands" not applicable. Result: offsetting fouls replay the down.

In either case you will not be marking off 15 yards for the roughing.