Go back to the RULE (7-5-13):
ART. 13 . . . An ineligible A player has illegally touched a forward pass if he bats, muffs or catches a legal forward pass, unless the pass has first been touched by B.
PENALTY: Illegal touching (Art. 13) – (S16) – 5 yards plus loss of down.
Compare that to the rule for OPI (7-5-10):
ART. 10 . . . It is forward-pass interference if:
a. Any player of A or B who is beyond the neutral zone interferes with an eligible opponent’s opportunity to move toward, catch or bat the pass.
b. Any player hinders an opponent’s vision without making an attempt to catch, intercept or bat the ball, even though no contact was made.
PENALTY: Pass interference (Art. 10) – (S33) – 15 yards and automatic first down if by B, 15 yards plus loss of down if by A – (S9).
This rule was changed a couple of years ago to specifically REMOVE the touching by an ineligible from being OPI. The case play change this year was a complete screw-up of the rule change. The clarification issued tried to justify the case play change, but even further butchered the interpretation. The committee tried to add the OPI provision for acts that would otherwise be OPI, but completely screwed up an otherwise good case play.
We have been told clearly that the intentional touching of a forward pass, be it a muff or a catch, is illegal touching, and is ONLY OPI if the actions would have been OPI had the receiver been eligible, which is what bama stripes has as well.
Expect this case play to go back to what it was in 2010:
7.5.13 SITUATION A: Ineligible receiver A2 is behind, in or beyond his neutral zone when a forward pass by A1: (a) accidentally strikes him in the back; or (b) is muffed by him; or (c) is caught by him.
RULING: In (a), there is no infraction, but in (b) and (c), it is illegal touching. The acts in both (b) and (c) are intentional and not accidental as in (a). Although ineligible downfield could also be called, the loss of down provision for illegal touching will see that penalty most often applied.