I'm not really interested in the rules ignorance of the talking head, but interested in the two questions that the case play highlights:
1. Is this pass considered to be a forward pass that crossed the NZ?
2. And if yes, what are the suggested mechanics to get the block that's just beyond the NZ?
We can agree for discussion that the receiver is approximately 1 yard +/- beyond the NZ when he catches the ball, and the block is just beyond that. Whose call would this normally be with 7 man mechanics and in 5 man mechanics?