Does 8-4-2-b apply here?
1. When the ball is declared dead beyond the neutral zone and is untouched
by Team B beyond the neutral zone, it belongs to Team B. Except in
an extra period Team B will snap the ball at the previous spot unless the
previous spot was between its 20-yard line and the goal line. In that case
Team B will next snap the ball at its 20-yard line.
That is the wording in the 2011 rule book.
In the 2009-10 book the passage reads:
After an unsuccessful field goal attempt that has crossed the neutral
zone, the ball will next be put in play by Team B. If the ball
is untouched
by Team B after having crossed the neutral zone and is subsequently
declared dead beyond the neutral zone, Team B will next snap it at the
previous spot, or extra-period rules govern. If the previous spot was
between Team B’s 20-yard line and the goal line, Team B will next
snap the ball on or between the inbounds lines at its 20-yard line, or
extra-period rules govern.
Note the difference in bold.
Doesn't 6-3-3 contradict the new version of 8-4-2-b-1?