Ok men. When I first read the question, I thought TB as well. But, I was curious about if I was correct cuz a forward fumble OOB's by A is a safety when brought back to the spot of the fumble. This is why I went digging in Redding's and found the example saying "B fumbled the ball, which went into the field of play, and then back into the EZ and is a safety."
I know Redding's is not the rule book, but it is based on the book and written by our rules man, although it may have been taken over by another as stated by another. It does clarify, provide more examples, and give rationales.
I wish we could get this to RR to see what he says, cuz his book is pretty clear on it. The question is identical except for it was an interception, not a fumble recovery.