Author Topic: Safety or Touchback??  (Read 26142 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

MJT

  • Guest
Re: Safety or Touchback??
« Reply #25 on: October 14, 2011, 04:10:22 PM »
MJT, humor me. Continue our dialog and answer the current question at hand - what is the rule support for the touchback?

8-6-1-a.

El Macman

  • Guest
Re: Safety or Touchback??
« Reply #26 on: October 14, 2011, 05:07:35 PM »
OK, I'll quit playing around and get to the point.

Forget momentum and all that stuff. The base scenario here is: the defending team catches or recovers an opponent's loose ball in their own end zone, then fumbles or throws a backward pass that - somehow - travels into the field of play then returns into the end zone where it goes out of bounds or is declared dead in the defending team's possession (and there is no impetus put on the ball after the fumble). Is this a touchback? Or a safety?

RR may WANT this to be a safety (and I hear from reliable sources that he does) but to date, he has not changed the Rules & Interpretations or issued a bulletin play to that effect, and I know of no one that has such a written ruling from him to a formal interpretation request. Nothing else counts.

In the mid-90s, this same scenario was formally posed to John Adams, the immediate past Sec-Ed of the Rules Committee. The scenario was posed by someone that, at the time, also believed this would be ruled as a safety, because (as the questioner surmised) AR 8-7-2-III only applied to a fumble/backward pass that went OB directly from the end zone following the fumble. Mr. Adams responded (in writing) by pointing out, quite correctly, that AR 8-7-2-III did not say that the ball went directly out of bounds; only that the ball (ultimately) went out of bounds behind the goal line. As such, unless a new impetus was imparted to the ball IN THE FIELD OF PLAY, the team that put the ball in the end zone from the field of play to begin with is still responsible for the ball being dead behind that goal line. Touchback.

As for my insistence on 'rule support,' strict reading of the 8-7-2-a (only) might lead one to believe that the fumble by the defending team imparts new impetus on the ball. If that were true, then, if the ball went directly OB from the fumble, that would be a safety. Well, AR 8-7-2-III tells us otherwise. It says touchback. And it is the ONLY rule support we have that clearly specifies touchback. But,it has been there for at least 40 years (probably a LOT longer). It is a fundamental rule.

So, let's look at AR 8-7-2-III.   Uh. Ummm. Gee. Wait. That's not what 8-7-2-III used to be. What happened? Where'd it go?

Guess what? For 2011, (the previous) AR 8-7-2-III disappeared. Like a fart in the wind. Just disappeared. With no ceremony, explanation, or attention of any kind. So, what rule support do we have now to make the "direct" fumble out of bounds a touchback? I don't know.

So, there you have the facts discussion.

Now let's think logically, and in terms of fairness for the good of the game. Why should the defending team suffer a safety for fumbling or throwing a backward pass in their own end zone? Do they gain advantage by fumbling? Possible, but what is the risk vs. reward for deliberately fumbling in your own end zone? Not very favorable. Do they gain advantage by throwing a backward pass? No more than if they did in the field of play.
Bottom line: Under all previous Sec-Eds in my lifetime, impetus is what put the ball FROM THE FIELD OF PLAY INTO THE END ZONE, and impetus can not be changed in the end zone. That's not only fair and good for the game, it is a superbly simple concept. If RR wants to make his mark on the game, then return the previous AR 8-7-2-III to the book, and/or change 8-7-1 to read: "...whose player carries or imparts an impetus to it that forces it FROM THE FIELD OF PLAY across the goal line...."
Then all of this gets cleared up and made very simple. And fair.
« Last Edit: October 14, 2011, 07:37:12 PM by El Macman »

Offline Kalle

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3414
  • FAN REACTION: +114/-35
Re: Safety or Touchback??
« Reply #27 on: October 14, 2011, 07:10:01 PM »
I believe that momentum is not a factor in either case (athough it does start the example play for the interpretation).  In the interpretation, the ruling was a touchback because B fumbled a ball from their end zone into the field of play and it came back into the end zone.  The momemtum rule, if a factor, would not have resulted in a touchback.  The only way a touchback is possible is if the momentum rule is not a factor.

In the bulletin play the final reason the ball was in the end zone was the result of team A's fumble, so this is in a sense a normal touchback situation.

Otherwise I have to concur with El Macman, there are no (recent, ie. since 2005) bulletin plays for this particular situation, and one can easily say that the momentum exception is already an exception so team B should not further benefit from their fumble (into the field of play and back into the end zone), making drawing parallels from the momentum rules moot.

MJT

  • Guest
Re: Safety or Touchback??
« Reply #28 on: October 15, 2011, 12:07:22 AM »
El Macman, clarity on this would definitely be a good thing. Nice discussion though!!!

Offline TXMike

  • *
  • Posts: 8773
  • FAN REACTION: +229/-268
  • When you quit learning you quit living
Re: Safety or Touchback??
« Reply #29 on: October 15, 2011, 06:16:57 AM »
The old 8-7-2-III

III. A Team B player catches a kick in his end zone, then fumbles and, in
attempting to recover the ball, muffs it out of bounds behind his own
goal line. RULING: Touchback (Rule 8-6-1-a).

The current 7-2-4-I

Approved Ruling 7-2-4
I. B20 intercepts a legal forward pass (a) in his end zone, (b) on his threeyard
line, and his momentum carries him into his end zone, or (c) in
the field of play and retreats into his end zone (no momentum). In each
instance, B20 fumbles in the end zone and the ball rolls forward and out
of bounds on Team B’s two-yard line. RULING: The ball belongs to
Team B at the spot of the fumble (Team B’s end zone); (a) touchback,
(b) Team B’s ball at the three-yard line, and (c) safety (Rules 8-5-1 and
8-6-1).
« Last Edit: October 15, 2011, 06:25:08 AM by TXMike »

DD

  • Guest
Re: Safety or Touchback??
« Reply #30 on: October 20, 2011, 07:11:24 AM »
It is a touchback because: 1) We have momentum, 2) the fumble from the endzone went OOB. Had the fumble been declared dead in the endzone after entering the field of play and then went back into the endzone we would have a safety.

Offline TXMike

  • *
  • Posts: 8773
  • FAN REACTION: +229/-268
  • When you quit learning you quit living
Re: Safety or Touchback??
« Reply #31 on: October 20, 2011, 07:25:15 AM »
To lend further support to the concept that impetus is not changed in the end zone....

8-7-2-b-1  EXCEPTION  The original impetus is not changed when a loose ball is batted or kicked in the end zone.
8-7-2-b-2 Exception 2 _ The original impetus is not changed when a ball at rest in the end zone is mopved when touched by an official or a player


These both make it clear to me that the original impetus that put a ball in the EZ will not be changed by events in the end zone.  Like MacDaddy says....if RR wants this to be different, he needs to do some language work.

Offline Andrew McCarthy

  • *
  • Posts: 1010
  • FAN REACTION: +21/-6
Re: Safety or Touchback??
« Reply #32 on: October 20, 2011, 07:55:54 AM »
My correspondance with Rogers Redding last season...

2/6/B-16.  B44 intercepts a forward pass in B's EZ and fumbles while still in B's EZ.The ball rolls into the field of play.  The ball is muffed back into B's EZ by B45 at the B-4 and out of bounds.

RR Reply...

Safety.  By rule, the fumbling team is responsible for the ball being in its end zone on its return trip into the end zone, so the result is a safety.  There are those who want this to be a touchback, but I have not seen a justification for this based on the rules.  If you have one, I would be interested in seeing it.

Offline jg-me

  • *
  • Posts: 416
  • FAN REACTION: +22/-4
Re: Safety or Touchback??
« Reply #33 on: October 20, 2011, 08:22:13 AM »
A thought or two:
  To me the basic concepts of impetus are based on two premises. The team last in possession is responsible for the original impetus and impetus is only a consideration as it relates to the final time a live ball crosses from the field of play inot the end zone.
  The exceptions cited by Mike apply specifically to loose balls in the end zone. If the ball became loose in the FOP and subsequently crosses a goal line whatever impetus is on the ball at that specific time cannnot be changed as long as the ball remains loose in that end zone. However, if, while in the end zone, the ball comes into player possession that team now must assume responsibility for any new impetus. This seems to be fair and logical since why should their opponent be at risk for a new impetus added by the team in control of the live ball. As long as the ball remains behind the goal line it is simple - the team that put it there maintains responsibility.
  However, after a COP in the EZ if a fumble, kick, carry or pass puts the ball back into the FOP impetus is non-issue unless the live ball once again crosses a goal line. If it does cross, the only questions that need answering are which team supplied the intial impetus (the team last in player possession) and was any new impetus added while the loose ball was back in the FOP.The answers to those questions will tell us the result of the play.
  If after a COP in the EZ a loose ball goes into the FOP and OOB, it either belongs at the OOB spot or the forward fumble exception applies. Bringing a dead ball back across a goal line due to the exception does not make the fumbling team guilty of a safety in and of itself because that was not the final time a LIVE ball crossed the goal line.
  The EZ exceptions to impetus change make it much simpler to offciate these plays. Initial impetus is only subject to change if there is a COP in the EZ and, at that particular point in time, is only a potential impetus change. The exceptions make it more difficult to have a new impetus while a ball is in an EZ but they do not negate the basic concept that the team in possession is ultimately responsible for ball control as it relates to impetus.

Offline BankerRef

  • *
  • Posts: 217
  • FAN REACTION: +12/-3
Re: Safety or Touchback??
« Reply #34 on: October 20, 2011, 10:07:41 AM »
El MacMan, Redding's is written by RR, and he is our rules guy. He is the #1 man for CFO and our rules book. His Redding's Study Guide is simply a book that adds more examples, details, and the best is the explanations and rationale behind the rules. It is the reference we use to clarify things and get the expanded reasoning behind a rule. If you have bought one before and used it for a year and don't like it, not a problem with your opinion, but if you have not used it for a year, give it a try. We use it for references on our test almost every week.

Just for clarification on the authorship of the study guide, while the Redding Study Guide still carries his name it is clearly disclosed that Rogers Redding is no longer the author.

El Macman

  • Guest
Re: Safety or Touchback??
« Reply #35 on: October 20, 2011, 01:06:47 PM »
OK, well that would be the written ruling to a formal interpretations request. First one I've heard of. Thanks for sharing that.

Like I said, RR clearly WANTS this to be a safety, and there is your support for making it such, should it happen. However, he leaves the door open for showing him the "error of his ways," so to speak. RR is a good man, but he is simply wrong on this specific aspect of how the game should be played. The crusade is on....


My correspondance with Rogers Redding last season...

2/6/B-16.  B44 intercepts a forward pass in B's EZ and fumbles while still in B's EZ.The ball rolls into the field of play.  The ball is muffed back into B's EZ by B45 at the B-4 and out of bounds.

RR Reply...

Safety.  By rule, the fumbling team is responsible for the ball being in its end zone on its return trip into the end zone, so the result is a safety.  There are those who want this to be a touchback, but I have not seen a justification for this based on the rules.  If you have one, I would be interested in seeing it.

Offline Andrew McCarthy

  • *
  • Posts: 1010
  • FAN REACTION: +21/-6
Re: Safety or Touchback??
« Reply #36 on: October 20, 2011, 03:42:32 PM »
OK, well that would be the written ruling to a formal interpretations request. First one I've heard of. Thanks for sharing that.

Like I said, RR clearly WANTS this to be a safety, and there is your support for making it such, should it happen. However, he leaves the door open for showing him the "error of his ways," so to speak. RR is a good man, but he is simply wrong on this specific aspect of how the game should be played. The crusade is on....

You can go on your personal crusade if you see fit but I think his ruling makes total sense with "how the game should be played".  Once B allows the ball to leave the end zone I don't see how we can say it entering the end zone the second time is the responsibility of Team A.  How is it much different from Team B taking a step into the field of play and then retreating?

 deadhorse:

Offline Joe Stack

  • *
  • Posts: 637
  • FAN REACTION: +33/-46
Re: Safety or Touchback??
« Reply #37 on: October 22, 2011, 09:19:07 PM »
Quote
Redding's is written by RR, and he is our rules guy. He is the #1 man for CFO and our rules book.

Whether its written by him or not, it isn't what the law would call binding authority. He wrote the book prior to being rules editor, and the NCAA hasn't made it part of their authorized rulings. Without specific rules references, you can't say Reddings is the only reference.

His guide is similar to a law review article: it isn't anything that can be relied upon in a court motion, but it can provide a roadmap for arguments made in such a motion.