Author Topic: Legal catch?  (Read 9322 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

boydmarq

  • Guest
Legal catch?
« on: October 16, 2011, 10:44:31 AM »
Watch the catch 14 seconds in to the video.  This was ruled a TD and CONFIRMED by replay.  Did they get it right??  I don't think so.  If anyone has the TV replay of this, please post.

http://youtu.be/LgkZik29AcY

Offline Kalle

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3415
  • FAN REACTION: +114/-35
Re: Legal catch?
« Reply #1 on: October 16, 2011, 12:26:08 PM »
Well, from that video clip you can easily argue both ways. Did he complete the catch and then go to the ground separately when attempting to score, or did he go to the ground in the process of making the catch? My call is the former.

boydmarq

  • Guest
Re: Legal catch?
« Reply #2 on: October 16, 2011, 04:43:09 PM »
Well, from that video clip you can easily argue both ways. Did he complete the catch and then go to the ground separately when attempting to score, or did he go to the ground in the process of making the catch? My call is the former.

Please explain the difference.

Offline RedTD

  • *
  • Posts: 117
  • FAN REACTION: +5/-2
Re: Legal catch?
« Reply #3 on: October 16, 2011, 05:33:47 PM »
I believe what Kalle is saying the pass could have been ruled complete in the field of play and then the ball penetrated the GL - in which case it is a TD. However if the pass was not ruled complete in the field of play then the fact the receiver was going to the ground would constitute an incomplete pass. Correct Kalle ?

Offline Kalle

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3415
  • FAN REACTION: +114/-35
Re: Legal catch?
« Reply #4 on: October 17, 2011, 12:05:21 AM »
I believe what Kalle is saying the pass could have been ruled complete in the field of play and then the ball penetrated the GL - in which case it is a TD. However if the pass was not ruled complete in the field of play then the fact the receiver was going to the ground would constitute an incomplete pass. Correct Kalle ?

Yes, thanks!

DD

  • Guest
Re: Legal catch?
« Reply #5 on: October 24, 2011, 06:18:23 AM »
Replay should have over turned this to no catch.  The receiver was going to the ground. Going to the ground on his own or the result of contact, it does not matter.

Offline NVFOA_Ump

  • *
  • Posts: 4174
  • FAN REACTION: +107/-328
  • High School (MA & RI)
    • Massachusetts Independent Football Officials Association
Re: Legal catch?
« Reply #6 on: October 24, 2011, 11:04:51 AM »
Replay should have over turned this to no catch.  The receiver was going to the ground. Going to the ground on his own or the result of contact, it does not matter.

But if the calling official ruled that he had possession and control in the field of play, then once the ball breaks the goal line, it's a TD - nothing that happens after that is material to the play.  Here the calling official obviously must have ruled that possession and control was established in the field of play, the ball in team A possession then crossed the goal line, hence end of play.  The subsequent loose ball is immaterial at that point.
It's easy to get the players, getting 'em to play together, that's the hard part. - Casey Stengel

DD

  • Guest
Re: Legal catch?
« Reply #7 on: October 24, 2011, 03:44:40 PM »
Anytime a receiver is going to the ground he must maintain possession and control after he hits the ground. Simply breaking the plane of the goal line while going to the ground does not mean you have a TD. You must maintain control after hitting the ground. This is why you have replay because onfield officials can make mistakes.

Offline Kalle

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3415
  • FAN REACTION: +114/-35
Re: Legal catch?
« Reply #8 on: October 24, 2011, 04:06:07 PM »
Anytime a receiver is going to the ground he must maintain possession and control after he hits the ground. Simply breaking the plane of the goal line while going to the ground does not mean you have a TD. You must maintain control after hitting the ground. This is why you have replay because onfield officials can make mistakes.

This is true if you rule (in this play) that the whole action is a receiver catching the ball and going to the ground. Based on this single angle I'd rule that first you have the receiver catching the ball and completing the catch without going to the ground in the process, and then you have the runner lunging for the goal line and going to the ground.

Or do you claim that no matter how much time elapses between the catch and the loss of control that it is always an incomplete catch? Catch made at A-5 and control lost while going to the ground at B-1 after a 94 yard run?

Offline NVFOA_Ump

  • *
  • Posts: 4174
  • FAN REACTION: +107/-328
  • High School (MA & RI)
    • Massachusetts Independent Football Officials Association
Re: Legal catch?
« Reply #9 on: October 24, 2011, 05:26:55 PM »
Anytime a receiver is going to the ground he must maintain possession and control after he hits the ground. Simply breaking the plane of the goal line while going to the ground does not mean you have a TD. You must maintain control after hitting the ground. This is why you have replay because onfield officials can make mistakes.

Correct if the player's status is still receiver but once that receiver is ruled to be in possession and control in the field of play his status changes from receiver (trying to secure a forward pass) to a ball carrier (or runner).  From then on, any breaking of the goal line plane with the ball while in possession of the ball carrier is a TD.  Once the goal line is crossed with the ball in possession the ball is dead by rule - all the rest becomes moot.  On this play the calling official must have ruled possession in the field of play so what happened after the goal line was crossed is irrelevant.  That doesn't say that the original call of possession may have been in error, but it's a judgment call that was made.  Do any of us score 100% correct on our judgment calls, certainly not, but in this case the replay official apparently did not see enough to overrule the initial possession outside the end zone call.
« Last Edit: October 25, 2011, 08:31:44 AM by NVFOA_Ump »
It's easy to get the players, getting 'em to play together, that's the hard part. - Casey Stengel

foureyedzebra

  • Guest
Re: Legal catch?
« Reply #10 on: October 24, 2011, 10:12:19 PM »
"but in this case the replay official apparently did not see enough to overrule the initial possession outside the end zone call.

I wonder if he seen this?






[attachment deleted by admin]

Offline mccormicw

  • *
  • Posts: 295
  • FAN REACTION: +3/-4
Re: Legal catch?
« Reply #11 on: October 27, 2011, 01:18:15 PM »
Is there a rule (vs an AR) that spells out maintaining control of the ball while going to the ground in the process of completing the catch?


ARs 7-3-6-IX thru XIII all discuss completing the catch.  Four of the five ARs involve an airborne playing maintaining control of the ball upon hitting the ground.  Example:  "An airborne receiver must maintain control of the ball while going to the ground in the process of completing a catch."  The remaining AR states :Any receiver going to the ground on his own in the process of making a catch must maintain control of the ball when he hits the ground."  Where does it discuss a non-airborne receiver being forced to the ground in order to complete the catch?