Mike, I agree with you on this. My original response regarding protecting himself was only in reference to a condition that ref6983 asserted. I was merely rebutting his argument by pointing out that if that is a condition to be met then you could say it was met on this play. That is not a condition as far as I am concerned. I am concerned with what the rule says and whether an action is in fact legal or illegal.
My observations regarding your comparison to a face mask foul were simply meant to point out that although both are intended to protect player safety the two are not alike as one is broad and the other narrow. Anytime and anywhere you see a facemask grasped and pulled you have a foul but that is not the case with a HCT. It is very limited in its application rather than broad and the rulesmakers must have done that for a reason.Is there a reference to the direction of the pull other than "down to the ground" in the rule? It does refer to the position of the grab. While no two plays are exactly alike, RR also makes no reference to the direction of the pull down in his comments, only the immediacy. Once again, immediate can only refer to the timing between the grab and the pull down as they are the only two actions described. Therefore it must start at the grab.
I'm glad you pointed this out as I had not noticed that this aspect was being argued.
The word "immediate" is in the language and, of course, it is a very relative term. In an HCT situation, we don't use a stopwatch and we have been give an specific amount of time when it is or is not a foul. Nor have we ever been given a distance measurement. After all, I don't think many officials are in the business of actually counting steps or yards when covering this play.
So then, at what point is does it no longer become immediate? In my original post, I stated guidelines that give the covering official a reasonable chance of making a consistent ruling. If the time frame is such that, after the initial grab, the runner can protect himself before getting pulled down, then it's not immediate and no foul. Normally this would be several steps, but depending on the speed of both players, it may be more or less.
Interestingly, I agree completely that the timing "starts with the grab". However, we completely disagree on what happens after that. I feel the tackler does nothing but begin the pull down as soon as he grabs the collar and even though they advance several yards, the runner is unable to do anything to avoid getting pulled down and the tackler does nothing to avoid pulling him down.