REPLY: Actually, it's not as simple as just saying, "It's OPI, period!" The Federation was questioned about the case play, and they posted the following clarification on their website at:
https://nfhs-football.arbitersports.com/Groups/105409/Library/files/2011%20NFHS%20Football%20Case%20Book%20Clarification.pdfIt's just as Tom Heisey described: It's not OPI unless the ineligible actually interferes with an opponent.
(Underlining in red shows additions; strikethrough shows deletions.)
Page 59, *7.5.13 SITUATION A: Ineligible receiver A2 is behind, in or beyond his neutral zone when a forward pass by A1: (a) accidentally strikes him in the back; or (b) is muffed by him; or (c) is caught by him. RULING: In (a), there is no illegal touching, however, if beyond the line of scrimmage, it would be offensive pass interference if the game officials judge that the offensive player interfered with B’s chance to move toward, catch or bat the pass. In (b) and (c), it is illegal touching and if beyond the line of scrimmage, would also be offensive pass interference. The acts in both (b) and (c) are intentional and not accidental as in (a) as it relates to illegal touching. Although ineligible downfield could also be called, the offended team will likely choose the most severe penalty to be applied.Even this attempt to clarify isn't very crisp or complete since it doesn't clearly answer the question: "What if the ineligible beyond the line DOESN'T interfere with his opponen's attempt to move toward, catch, or bat the pass?" But I think the implication that you wouold rule IT is a given.
So in short, the way I read this is: If an ineligible beyond the line catches, muffs, or bats a legal forward pass you have illegal touching unless in so doing he interferes with an opponent's opportunity to make a play on the ball. Then you would have OPI.