Author Topic: enforcement spot on INT  (Read 4898 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Getting Fat

  • *
  • Posts: 192
  • FAN REACTION: +5/-6
enforcement spot on INT
« on: October 25, 2011, 10:02:27 AM »
B22 intercepts pass on the 50 and returns for a TD.  After the interception, and before B22 crosses of the GL (lets put B22 at the A 25), B99 commits a PF at the B 30.  I want to enforce this at the 50, am I wrong?  The result I would have would be B 1/10 @ B 35.

Offline Atlanta Blue

  • *
  • Posts: 3781
  • FAN REACTION: +160/-71
Re: enforcement spot on INT
« Reply #1 on: October 25, 2011, 10:19:51 AM »
am I wrong?

Yes.

Enforce from the spot of the foul since the end of the run is ahead of the foul.  Where B22 is when the foul takes place is meaningless (as long as the ball is still live), as is the spot of the INT.

Since INT spots aren't bagged in NCAA rules, how do you even know where it is?
« Last Edit: October 25, 2011, 10:26:29 AM by Atlanta Blue »

Offline Welpe

  • *
  • Posts: 1860
  • FAN REACTION: +28/-11
Re: enforcement spot on INT
« Reply #2 on: October 25, 2011, 10:26:00 AM »
As Atl Blue alluded to, this is just 3 and 1 enforcement.  Though Team B remains Team B throughout the play, they became the offense when they intercepted the ball.  The end of the run is beyond the spot of the foul so enforce from the spot of the foul.  The spot of the interception is irrelevant.

Offline Getting Fat

  • *
  • Posts: 192
  • FAN REACTION: +5/-6
Re: enforcement spot on INT
« Reply #3 on: October 25, 2011, 10:44:47 AM »
I knew the end of the run was irrelevant, just as the spot the runner is at at the time of the foul (unless he's crossed the GL), but just viewed the INT spot as similar to the LOS under the 3 and 1 principle.

Thanks for the answer guys, much appreciated.

Offline Kalle

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3415
  • FAN REACTION: +114/-35
Re: enforcement spot on INT
« Reply #4 on: October 25, 2011, 12:39:18 PM »
I knew the end of the run was irrelevant, just as the spot the runner is at at the time of the foul (unless he's crossed the GL), but just viewed the INT spot as similar to the LOS under the 3 and 1 principle.

End of the (related) run is almost always relevant (which is why you always bag these), and it is in this case too. If end of the run was behind the spot of the foul, you would enforce from the end of the run.