Author Topic: You Make the Call  (Read 8867 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline TXMike

  • *
  • Posts: 8773
  • FAN REACTION: +229/-268
  • When you quit learning you quit living
You Make the Call
« on: October 28, 2011, 04:58:38 AM »

El Macman

  • Guest
Re: You Make the Call
« Reply #1 on: October 28, 2011, 06:31:09 AM »
http://youtu.be/8H2uEHAfm3E

Looks like a 'nothing' to me. Receiver goes OB voluntarily - no longer eligible. Defender is still inbounds when he pushes the receiver - not in the back or below the waist - legal contact. The ball is not yet incomplete, so no late hit. Nothing.
But, I have yet to figure out what the hell chain crew guys are doing. Time after time I see them just standing there like mannequins while a player runs into a stake or down box. Geezus. When players head your direction outside the numbers, get those dang things on the ground and and get the heck out of the way. The next major lawsuit against officials will be an injured star player suing because the officials failed to make sure the chain crew didn't endanger the players. BS, but it will happen.   

Offline NVFOA_Ump

  • *
  • Posts: 4174
  • FAN REACTION: +107/-328
  • High School (MA & RI)
    • Massachusetts Independent Football Officials Association
Re: You Make the Call
« Reply #2 on: October 28, 2011, 07:00:49 AM »
I'd agree - not much to call here.  Defender is dead in front of the receiver leaving no open path down the sideline and it looks like the receiver steps out to avoid him.  The contact occurs virtually simultaneous with receiver stepping OB and the ball being thrown.  Also agree that the stakes need to be on the ground on a play like this.
It's easy to get the players, getting 'em to play together, that's the hard part. - Casey Stengel

Offline TxSkyBolt

  • *
  • Posts: 2007
  • FAN REACTION: +45/-46
Re: You Make the Call
« Reply #3 on: October 28, 2011, 07:45:01 AM »
Really couldn't see much, but if the block occurred while the receiver was OOB, isn't that covered in the new rule this year?

Offline TXMike

  • *
  • Posts: 8773
  • FAN REACTION: +229/-268
  • When you quit learning you quit living
Re: You Make the Call
« Reply #4 on: October 28, 2011, 07:46:21 AM »
Blockee AND blocker have to be out of bounds for the new rule to kick in

Offline TxSkyBolt

  • *
  • Posts: 2007
  • FAN REACTION: +45/-46
Re: You Make the Call
« Reply #5 on: October 28, 2011, 07:51:32 AM »
I would argue that the blocker was also OOB when he blocked.  Rule says completely OOB, so maybe overly technical on my part.  This obviously isn't what was called on the field, but if it were, the enforcement spot would be where the defender crossed the sideline, correct?
« Last Edit: October 28, 2011, 07:54:52 AM by SATCFI »

Offline Reverend30

  • *
  • Posts: 41
  • FAN REACTION: +1/-2
  • NVFOA/EAIFO (Mass.)
Re: You Make the Call
« Reply #6 on: October 28, 2011, 08:06:05 AM »
I would argue that the blocker was also OOB when he blocked.  Rule says completely OOB, so maybe overly technical on my part.  This obviously isn't what was called on the field, but if it were, the enforcement spot would be where the defender crossed the sideline, correct?

That's correct.

Neither the block OOB or a DPI of any flavor really "sings" here - I'd have nothing.

Offline TXMike

  • *
  • Posts: 8773
  • FAN REACTION: +229/-268
  • When you quit learning you quit living
Re: You Make the Call
« Reply #7 on: October 28, 2011, 08:11:08 AM »
I would argue that the blocker was also OOB when he blocked.  Rule says completely OOB, so maybe overly technical on my part.  This obviously isn't what was called on the field, but if it were, the enforcement spot would be where the defender crossed the sideline, correct?

Get back in the middle and enjoy your Snickers and leave the sidelines to the pros.   >:D 

Diablo

  • Guest
Re: You Make the Call
« Reply #8 on: October 28, 2011, 09:13:54 AM »
Rule says completely OOB, so maybe overly technical on my part.  This obviously isn't what was called on the field, but if it were, the enforcement spot would be where the defender crossed the sideline, correct?

9-1-7-c:  It is illegal for any player to be clearly out of bounds when he initiates a block against an opponent who is out of bounds. The spot of the foul is where the blocker crosses the sideline in going out of bounds.

I'm getting gun-shy about interpreting written rules on my own.  By official interpretation, is it "completely" or "clearly" OB?   Also, what is the working definition of "clearly/completely out of bounds"?  Is it that the blockee has to have both feet technically OB with no overlap with the field of play?  Or can he have one foot with toe OB and heal in the field of play?

I'd say the enforcement spot is dictated by the 3 and 1 principle.

Offline TXMike

  • *
  • Posts: 8773
  • FAN REACTION: +229/-268
  • When you quit learning you quit living
Re: You Make the Call
« Reply #9 on: October 28, 2011, 09:25:59 AM »
Definitely 3 and 1.  All the sideline crossing spot is is the spot of the foul which you will use while computing enforcement under 3 and 1

Chester

  • Guest
Re: You Make the Call
« Reply #10 on: October 28, 2011, 10:11:46 AM »
I must not be getting all of the video. 

So we are saying that the receiver 1. went OOB on his own 2. was contacted OOB by the defender after going out on his own and 3. was contacted before the pass was thrown? 

I sure am liking DPI here.   

Offline TXMike

  • *
  • Posts: 8773
  • FAN REACTION: +229/-268
  • When you quit learning you quit living
Re: You Make the Call
« Reply #11 on: October 28, 2011, 10:17:43 AM »
#1 is all you need to erase any DPI possibility here.   He went out on his own.  He is ineligible

Chester

  • Guest
Re: You Make the Call
« Reply #12 on: October 28, 2011, 11:34:12 AM »
Don't disagree with that.  I just can't don't see in the video where you can say he went out on his own.  Let me go back and look at it again.  Any type of contact by B can allow you to make him forced out of bounds.