Author Topic: Another one from our off season study  (Read 7328 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline NorCalMike

  • *
  • Posts: 770
  • FAN REACTION: +23/-8
Another one from our off season study
« on: February 29, 2012, 12:51:43 AM »
First and 10 @ B20.  A82 blocks B21 and forces him out of bounds and continues to block him to keep him from returning in bounds.  A1 runs the ball into the end zone for a touchdown.

Ruling:                  Type of Play:
Basic Spot/Enforcement Spot:
Penalty:               Rule Citing:
Team      Down     Distance        Yardline      Clock status____

Offline TampaSteve

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 1534
  • FAN REACTION: +24/-13
Re: Another one from our off season study
« Reply #1 on: February 29, 2012, 09:41:53 AM »
Rule 9-6, Art 2, c, d.
seems that A intentionally went OOB & influenced and or otherwise participated in the play.
So we got IP, live ball, basic spot.
Snap.

Harry

  • Guest
Re: Another one from our off season study
« Reply #2 on: February 29, 2012, 02:37:59 PM »
Rule 9-6, Art 2, c, d.
seems that A intentionally went OOB & influenced and or otherwise participated in the play.
So we got IP, live ball, basic spot.
Snap.

I agree except the spot.  Wouldn't this be a spot foul since it is behind the basic spot on a running play?

Offline ljudge

  • *
  • Posts: 416
  • FAN REACTION: +19/-2
Re: Another one from our off season study
« Reply #3 on: February 29, 2012, 07:26:42 PM »
There is not enough information here to suggest team A player committed a foul.  He could be standing invbounds and contacting the B player.  And, if he were out of bounds I'm still not so sure he's committing IP.  Was he really "influencing" the play.  At college level they specifically put in a rule last year because there was no rule in place preventing a player from doing what thw team A player was doing here.  I'm not sure Fed handled it as of yet.  (BUT I haven't picked up a fed rulebook in a while)

Offline NorCalMike

  • *
  • Posts: 770
  • FAN REACTION: +23/-8
Re: Another one from our off season study
« Reply #4 on: March 01, 2012, 01:39:06 AM »
Assume that the A player did not go out of bounds intentionally. Is there any foul here?

Offline HLinNC

  • *
  • Posts: 3491
  • FAN REACTION: +133/-24
Re: Another one from our off season study
« Reply #5 on: March 01, 2012, 11:03:33 AM »
The IP scenario was for the receiver going OOB and touching a loose live ball.  Not sure how it got extrapolated out to this case.

Offline TampaSteve

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 1534
  • FAN REACTION: +24/-13
Re: Another one from our off season study
« Reply #6 on: March 01, 2012, 12:24:03 PM »
Per 9-6, it states, "no player of A or K shall go out of bounds and return to the field during
the down unless blocked out of bounds by an opponent"

Mike L

  • Guest
Re: Another one from our off season study
« Reply #7 on: March 01, 2012, 06:22:21 PM »
Per 9-6, it states, "no player of A or K shall go out of bounds and return to the field during
the down unless blocked out of bounds by an opponent"

Makes the assumption the A player went out of bounds which is not stated in the op.

Offline TampaSteve

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 1534
  • FAN REACTION: +24/-13
Re: Another one from our off season study
« Reply #8 on: March 02, 2012, 07:01:53 AM »
Makes the assumption the A player went out of bounds which is not stated in the op.
...correct..Assuming A went OOB...    deadhorse:

If A was not OOB, there is no restriction in HS to block someone who is OOB.  Conversely, in NCAA there is I believe..
« Last Edit: March 02, 2012, 09:42:47 AM by TampaSteve »