Author Topic: Can an illegal participant be fouled?  (Read 5224 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline GAHSUMPIRE

  • *
  • Posts: 566
  • FAN REACTION: +19/-3
Can an illegal participant be fouled?
« on: March 16, 2012, 08:18:32 AM »
Forgive the title of the post, but going through off season discussions, this play came up: Eligible A41 runs 10 yards downfield, accidentally steps on the sideline, and then turns to receive a forward pass. Just before the ball gets to A41, defender B42 jumps into him from behind and deflects the pass away before A41 touches it. What do we have?

Illegal participation on A41, but do you call the DPI on B42? I don't know why, but part of me wants to think that since he is no longer a legal participant, the DPI would be waved off. Even I think it sounds dumb, but I can't help thinking that.

Spring ball needs to start soon.

Offline Ump33

  • *
  • Posts: 265
  • FAN REACTION: +8/-3
Re: Can an illegal participant be fouled?
« Reply #1 on: March 16, 2012, 10:58:07 AM »
Case Book 9.6.1 SITUATION A: With third down and 20 from B’s 40-yard line, A1 accidentally steps out of bounds at B’s 30 while running a sideline pattern. A1 returns inbounds at the 28. Quarterback A2’s forward pass is: (a) overthrown and incomplete; or (b) caught by A1 at B’s 25; or (c) in flight to A1 when B1 contacts him and it falls incomplete.

RULING: In (a) and (b), it is illegal participation by A1. In (c), A1’s illegal participation and B1’s interference result in a double foul and replay of the down. COMMENT: When A1 goes out of bounds voluntarily or by accident, or delays his return after being blocked out by an opponent, he commits an illegal participation foul when he returns inbounds. The spot of the foul is where he returns inbounds. (10-2-1)

Offline GAHSUMPIRE

  • *
  • Posts: 566
  • FAN REACTION: +19/-3
Re: Can an illegal participant be fouled?
« Reply #2 on: March 16, 2012, 12:01:23 PM »
Thanks for the response. Don't know why I would have thought that about the DPI, I knew it sounded odd, but I just couldn't shake it.

Offline bama_stripes

  • *
  • Posts: 3145
  • FAN REACTION: +124/-29
Re: Can an illegal participant be fouled?
« Reply #3 on: March 16, 2012, 02:55:33 PM »
Once eligible, always eligible.  DPI.

Offline GAHSUMPIRE

  • *
  • Posts: 566
  • FAN REACTION: +19/-3
Re: Can an illegal participant be fouled?
« Reply #4 on: March 16, 2012, 10:04:19 PM »
Once eligible, always eligible.  DPI.

Bama, I knew the once, eligible, always eligible, but for some reason I kept thinking, since he was no longer "legal", that that would have en effect.

Good thing I'm an Umpire, I would rarely if ever be called upon to make that call.

I guess that's what happens when I have too much time to think about stuff
« Last Edit: March 16, 2012, 10:06:49 PM by GAHSUMPIRE »