Author Topic: 2 USC fouls - enforcements  (Read 2331 times)

Offline cbrunnjo

  • *
  • Posts: 148
  • FAN REACTION: +0/-0
2 USC fouls - enforcements
« on: September 06, 2012, 04:08:55 PM »
A 2/10/A30. A runs for a 5 yard gain and gets tackled inbounds. After the play we have 2 unsportsmanlike fouls (1 on each team).

How are these administered?
What would be the down and distance of the next play?
Would you mark off one put the ball down then signal and mark off the next or just cancel them out?


Offline Rulesman

  • The Keeper of the Keys
  • Administrator
  • ***
  • Posts: 3839
  • FAN REACTION: +332/-243
  • Live like tomorrow never comes.
Re: 2 USC fouls - enforcements
« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2012, 04:51:46 PM »
A 2/10/A30. A runs for a 5 yard gain and gets tackled inbounds. After the play we have 2 unsportsmanlike fouls (1 on each team).

How are these administered?
What would be the down and distance of the next play?
Would you mark off one put the ball down then signal and mark off the next or just cancel them out?
You walk both off (take them in the order in which they occur) unless they occur simultaneously.
"Gentlemen, we are going to relentlessly chase perfection, knowing full well we will not catch it, because nothing is perfect. But we are going to relentlessly chase it, because in the process we will catch excellence. I am not remotely interested in just being good."
- Vince Lombardi

Offline maybrefguy

  • *
  • Posts: 76
  • FAN REACTION: +0/-0
Re: 2 USC fouls - enforcements
« Reply #2 on: September 06, 2012, 04:53:22 PM »
The order is significant in that it could involve half the distance to the goal, or a first down.

Offline FBUmp

  • *
  • Posts: 546
  • FAN REACTION: +77/-38
Re: 2 USC fouls - enforcements
« Reply #3 on: September 06, 2012, 09:41:39 PM »
So we really can't answer your question unless you tell us which foul occurred first.

Offline CenTexTM

  • *
  • Posts: 64
  • FAN REACTION: +1/-0
Re: 2 USC fouls - enforcements
« Reply #4 on: September 07, 2012, 12:52:39 AM »
Why does 10-1-5 not apply here?  I have A 3&5 @ A35

Offline CenTexTM

  • *
  • Posts: 64
  • FAN REACTION: +1/-0
Re: 2 USC fouls - enforcements
« Reply #5 on: September 07, 2012, 12:53:41 AM »
Ignore the above... I wandered too far from my home.  ^flag

Offline NorCalMike

  • *
  • Posts: 735
  • FAN REACTION: +22/-8
Re: 2 USC fouls - enforcements
« Reply #6 on: September 07, 2012, 01:59:48 AM »
A 2/10/A30. A runs for a 5 yard gain and gets tackled inbounds. After the play we have 2 unsportsmanlike fouls (1 on each team).


Since we are talking about UNS fouls they always administered as a dead ball foul. Dead ball fouls are administer in the order of occurance. This is important in situations where a half the distance to goal is the yardage. This does not enter in to the picture on the above play since the enforcement spot will be the EOR which is the A35. Regardless of what order these foul occurs, the distance portion of the penalties would cancel out.

Last week we had a similar situation except it as 2 and 10 on B15. A12 advances the ball to the B10. After the play B35 commits a personal foul. A66 responds with UNS. Since B fouled first we walked the half the distance to the Goal putting the ball to the B5. Then we administered the unsportsmanlike foul, 15 yards, ball placed on the B20. 3 and 15.

A's coach is going ballistic. He can't understand why the fouls don't offset. He didn't like our explanation. After having a temper tantrum, A scores on the next play.

Offline Ump33

  • *
  • Posts: 208
  • FAN REACTION: +4/-2
Re: 2 USC fouls - enforcements
« Reply #7 on: September 07, 2012, 06:29:07 AM »
A 2/10/A30. A runs for a 5 yard gain and gets tackled inbounds. After the play we have 2 unsportsmanlike fouls (1 on each team).

How are these administered?
What would be the down and distance of the next play?
Would you mark off one put the ball down then signal and mark off the next or just cancel them out?



"Order of Occurance" is important on most plays with DB fouls on each team. In the OP, Team A was 5 yards short of the Line-to-gain on the A35 at the end of the down. If Team B fouled first, the enforcement would take the ball beyond the Line-to-gain and give Team A 1st down. After enforcement against Team A, the ball would be returned to the A35 and it would be A's ball 1st & 10 at the A35. If Team A fouled first, the net result would still be the A35 but it would A's ball 3rd & 5 at the A35.

Last week we had a similar situation except it as 2 and 10 on B15. A12 advances the ball to the B10. After the play B35 commits a personal foul. A66 responds with UNS. Since B fouled first we walked the half the distance to the Goal putting the ball to the B5. Then we administered the unsportsmanlike foul, 15 yards, ball placed on the B20. 3 and 15.

A's coach is going ballistic. He can't understand why the fouls don't offset. He didn't like our explanation. After having a temper tantrum, A scores on the next play.

Should you not have had 1st & 10 on the B20? ... "Since B fouled first we walked the half the distance to the Goal putting the ball to the B5." The B5 was the Line-to-gain.

Offline Atlanta Blue

  • *
  • Posts: 3781
  • FAN REACTION: +160/-71
Re: 2 USC fouls - enforcements
« Reply #8 on: September 07, 2012, 07:41:01 AM »
He can't understand why the fouls don't offset.

If he were coaching in the NCAA, they would offset.  But not in FED.

One more of the many rules differences in the codes.