Author Topic: Blocked kick touched by R  (Read 2260 times)

Offline bbeagle

  • *
  • Posts: 422
  • FAN REACTION: +5/-28
Blocked kick touched by R
« on: September 19, 2012, 01:03:13 PM »
Play: Team A 4th and 10 from A30. Low punt is blocked at A30. Ball falls to ground around 30. Scramble for ball. Ball goes off Team B player. Team A recovers at A33. 1st down and 10 for A at A33.

Does it matter WHERE Team B touches the blocked kick? If they touch it at the A27 (behind neutral zone), A31 (in expanded neutral zone) or A33 (beyond neutral zone)?

Offline VALJ

  • *
  • Posts: 2200
  • FAN REACTION: +79/-12
Re: Blocked kick touched by R
« Reply #1 on: September 19, 2012, 01:09:42 PM »
If B (R) is the first team to touch the ball beyond the expanded neutral zone, it's going to be a first down for whichever team is in possession at the end of the play.

If R touches the ball in or behind the ENZ, K still needs to earn a first down on yardage gained (or via penalty).

Offline maven

  • *
  • Posts: 620
  • FAN REACTION: +2/-0
Re: Blocked kick touched by R
« Reply #2 on: September 19, 2012, 01:49:25 PM »
VALJ nailed it. The block by R and touching in the ENZ are ignored, and K should not receive a new series after recovering at the A33, short of the LTG.
Quality is not an act, it is a habit.
Aristotle

Offline bbeagle

  • *
  • Posts: 422
  • FAN REACTION: +5/-28
Re: Blocked kick touched by R
« Reply #3 on: September 19, 2012, 02:16:51 PM »
If R touches the ball in or behind the ENZ, K still needs to earn a first down on yardage gained (or via penalty).

Should we then bean-bag the spot of B/R touching to confirm the result of the play? I had a play like this as the linesman, and it was a very quick play - punt - blocked - ball on ground - touched by B/R trying to recover, then jumped on by A/K. All within a few yards of the line of scrimmage.

Offline ECILLJ

  • *
  • Posts: 367
  • FAN REACTION: +17/-2
  • Have fun & give 'em your best!
Re: Blocked kick touched by R
« Reply #4 on: September 19, 2012, 02:30:25 PM »
If a punt is blocked, it more than likely has taken place in or behind the neutral zone. No need to bean bag.

Offline bbeagle

  • *
  • Posts: 422
  • FAN REACTION: +5/-28
Re: Blocked kick touched by R
« Reply #5 on: September 19, 2012, 02:38:27 PM »
If a punt is blocked, it more than likely has taken place in or behind the neutral zone. No need to bean bag.

The punt was blocked behind the neutral zone at the A29, but the ball continued past the line of scrimmage. then bounced and was touched somewhere between the A31 and the A33 (1-3 yards down the field).

The spot of where it was touched was in question. I ruled that this was > 2 yards, and it was K's ball when they recovered at the A33. However, throwing a bean bag at the spot where R/K touched the kick would have cleared up the question of whether the ball was touched at the A31 1/2 (inside the ENZ) or A 32 1/2 (past the ENZ), with a different outcome to the play.



Offline ECILLJ

  • *
  • Posts: 367
  • FAN REACTION: +17/-2
  • Have fun & give 'em your best!
Re: Blocked kick touched by R
« Reply #6 on: September 19, 2012, 03:04:45 PM »
First touching is ignored if it occurs in or behind the neutral zone. Blocked punts occur in these two areas. If the punt was very high and the wind blowed it back close to the neutral zone, then I would say make a determination with your eyes and not with your bean bag. The bean bag is our tool to spot the first touching it is not our tool to determine the first touching.

Offline maven

  • *
  • Posts: 620
  • FAN REACTION: +2/-0
Re: Blocked kick touched by R
« Reply #7 on: September 19, 2012, 03:12:32 PM »
The spot of where it was touched was in question. I ruled that this was > 2 yards, and it was K's ball when they recovered at the A33. However, throwing a bean bag at the spot where R/K touched the kick would have cleared up the question of whether the ball was touched at the A31 1/2 (inside the ENZ) or A 32 1/2 (past the ENZ), with a different outcome to the play.

I think you handled it well. This does not need a bag: benefit of the doubt to R here. If in doubt whether the ball was beyond the ENZ, it was NOT beyond the ENZ and R will take possession.

If the wings are mechanically sound, they don't need a bag to judge this play. And if they're already 10 yards downfield, a bag won't correct their judgment.
Quality is not an act, it is a habit.
Aristotle

Offline VALJ

  • *
  • Posts: 2200
  • FAN REACTION: +79/-12
Re: Blocked kick touched by R
« Reply #8 on: September 20, 2012, 01:54:21 PM »
The punt was blocked behind the neutral zone at the A29, but the ball continued past the line of scrimmage. then bounced and was touched somewhere between the A31 and the A33 (1-3 yards down the field).

The spot of where it was touched was in question. I ruled that this was > 2 yards, and it was K's ball when they recovered at the A33. However, throwing a bean bag at the spot where R/K touched the kick would have cleared up the question of whether the ball was touched at the A31 1/2 (inside the ENZ) or A 32 1/2 (past the ENZ), with a different outcome to the play.

For what it's worth, our association's mechanics call for us to do exactly that if the ball is touched and/or recovered near the line of scrimmage.  Sure, WE can make that judgement as to in/behind/beyond the ENZ, but having that bean bag down shows everybody in the world, and especially the coach of the team that isn't getting the ball, exactly where the touch occured.  YMMV, especially according to your assigner's preference.