Author Topic: 2 quicks ?s  (Read 2069 times)

Offline Sjref

  • *
  • Posts: 39
  • FAN REACTION: +1/-0
2 quicks ?s
« on: October 15, 2012, 06:00:46 PM »
1st & 10 @A20. Covered end A80 catches a pass. OPI or illegal touching?

same scenario, but A80 fumbles, during loose ball, an IW occurs. How do you proceed.

Do you ignore the foul?

Offline maven

  • *
  • Posts: 620
  • FAN REACTION: +2/-0
Re: 2 quicks ?s
« Reply #1 on: October 15, 2012, 06:17:18 PM »
Quick answers:

1. Illegal touching. The case play was corrected on the NFHS website. 7-5-13

2. Other way round: enforce the penalty and ignore the IW. 5 yards, previous spot, LOD. 4-2-3d
Quality is not an act, it is a habit.
Aristotle

Offline Sjref

  • *
  • Posts: 39
  • FAN REACTION: +1/-0
Re: 2 quicks ?s
« Reply #2 on: October 15, 2012, 06:30:36 PM »
ok. I agree with everything. I said illegal touching and others said OPI adn said they looked it up after game and were correct.

I also believed that the pentaly would have to be enforced. We replayed the down and did not enforce pentaly. Everyone disagreed with me also (last minute of JV blowout gmae) so i didnt give much of a fight. Both partners called me after game and said they read it in rule book adn I was wrong. I have yet to get a rule book but will look it up.

thanks

Offline HLinNC

  • *
  • Posts: 2219
  • FAN REACTION: +63/-12
Re: 2 quicks ?s
« Reply #3 on: October 15, 2012, 08:10:20 PM »
Remember, a foul is your friend in an IW sitch.

Offline FBUmp

  • *
  • Posts: 546
  • FAN REACTION: +77/-38
Re: 2 quicks ?s
« Reply #4 on: October 15, 2012, 08:22:23 PM »
ok. I agree with everything. I said illegal touching and others said OPI adn said they looked it up after game and were correct.

They think they're right because the Case Book is wrong.  As maven said, it's corrected on the NFHS website.  Go to the interps and send them the correct ruling.

Offline HLinNC

  • *
  • Posts: 2219
  • FAN REACTION: +63/-12

waltjp

  • Guest
Re: 2 quicks ?s
« Reply #6 on: October 16, 2012, 02:49:08 PM »
1st & 10 @A20. Covered end A80 catches a pass. OPI or illegal touching?

same scenario, but A80 fumbles, during loose ball, an IW occurs. How do you proceed.

Do you ignore the foul?

Is there a foul?  Where did A80 catch the pass?  If this was a backward pass there is no foul.

Offline FBUmp

  • *
  • Posts: 546
  • FAN REACTION: +77/-38
Re: 2 quicks ?s
« Reply #7 on: October 16, 2012, 10:55:04 PM »
Is there a foul?  Where did A80 catch the pass?  If this was a backward pass there is no foul.

Walt Walt Walt, when a poster posts "pass," let's assume it's a forward pass unless it's stated "backwards."

Or "lateral." :D

Offline maven

  • *
  • Posts: 620
  • FAN REACTION: +2/-0
Re: 2 quicks ?s
« Reply #8 on: October 17, 2012, 08:37:53 AM »
... let's assume it's a forward pass unless it's stated "backwards."

You sound like my wings... ;)
Quality is not an act, it is a habit.
Aristotle