Author Topic: 2012 NFHS Test question  (Read 1967 times)

Offline bossman72

  • *
  • Posts: 1264
  • FAN REACTION: +64/-22
2012 NFHS Test question
« on: February 02, 2013, 09:44:42 AM »
95. After completing the catch, receiver A12ís momentum carries him into Bís team box, where nonplayer B44 pushes A12 into a bench. What is the ruling?

The answer key said it's 15 yards and a DQ.

My question is: why is it an automatic DQ?

Offline Magician

  • *
  • Posts: 525
  • FAN REACTION: +107/-4
Re: Re: 2012 NFHS Test question
« Reply #1 on: February 02, 2013, 11:38:17 AM »
95. After completing the catch, receiver A12’s momentum carries him into B’s team box, where nonplayer B44 pushes A12 into a bench. What is the ruling?

The answer key said it's 15 yards and a DQ.

My question is: why is it an automatic DQ?
Probably assuming the hit was flagrant since it was a non-player deep in the bench and more than just a slight push.  Bad test question though.

Offline Rulesman

  • The Keeper of the Keys
  • Administrator
  • ***
  • Posts: 3839
  • FAN REACTION: +328/-243
  • Live like tomorrow never comes.
Re: Re: 2012 NFHS Test question
« Reply #2 on: February 02, 2013, 12:45:37 PM »
Probably assuming the hit was flagrant since it was a non-player deep in the bench and more than just a slight push.  Bad test question though.
Maybe a bad test question, but, for once, a real-life play situation that could easily happen in any game.
"Gentlemen, we are going to relentlessly chase perfection, knowing full well we will not catch it, because nothing is perfect. But we are going to relentlessly chase it, because in the process we will catch excellence. I am not remotely interested in just being good."
- Vince Lombardi

Offline bama_stripes

  • *
  • Posts: 2271
  • FAN REACTION: +70/-25
Re: 2012 NFHS Test question
« Reply #3 on: February 03, 2013, 07:06:26 AM »
I guess that would be construed as "intent to injure".

Offline Rulesman

  • The Keeper of the Keys
  • Administrator
  • ***
  • Posts: 3839
  • FAN REACTION: +328/-243
  • Live like tomorrow never comes.
Re: 2012 NFHS Test question
« Reply #4 on: February 03, 2013, 08:35:47 AM »
I guess that would be construed as "intent to injure".
I would interpret it more to be major league, flagrant, unsportsmanlike conduct.
"Gentlemen, we are going to relentlessly chase perfection, knowing full well we will not catch it, because nothing is perfect. But we are going to relentlessly chase it, because in the process we will catch excellence. I am not remotely interested in just being good."
- Vince Lombardi

Online Ump33

  • *
  • Posts: 208
  • FAN REACTION: +4/-2
Re: 2012 NFHS Test question
« Reply #5 on: February 04, 2013, 06:24:25 AM »
It is a Case Book play and it is in the "Fighting/Not Fighting Section." I agree with previous replies that it should be considered flagrant.

9.4.1 SITUATION D: After completing the catch, receiver A12's momentum carries him into B's team box, where nonplayer B44 pushes A12 into a bench. RULING: Nonplayer B44 is disqualified and a 15-yard penalty is assessed from the succeeding spot.