Been mulling this over.
The rule language isn’t as clear as it needs to be, but, IMHO, even if he is in motion, treat this player as though he is a lineman or a back, depending on whether or not he meets the positional elements for those classifications. One way or another, he’ll commit an illegal motion foul at the snap, unless he stops in the backfield before the ball is snapped.
If he is - positionally - on the line, then he would be ‘covering’ anybody inside of him. If he is on the end, make him eligible (assuming he’s wearing an eligible number). If he is interior, he is ineligible.
If he is in the backfield, then he has no effect on the linemen, but he would be counted as a backfield player for the purposes of counting backfield players.
If he doesn’t stop in the backfield, Team A is gonna get a foul, under any of those circumstances. Illegal motion or illegal formation, take your pick. Then possibly ineligible downfield and/or OPI.
Robert