Author Topic: Formation/Snapper?  (Read 239 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline BigWill

  • *
  • Posts: 35
  • FAN REACTION: +1/-1
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Formation/Snapper?
« on: September 25, 2025, 08:58:27 PM »
Team A lines up at the 3yd going for 2 they are in a swinging gate formation the snapper is at the end of the line he is positioned sideways when he snaps the ball is this legal?

Offline ncwingman

  • *
  • Posts: 1410
  • FAN REACTION: +77/-15
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Re: Formation/Snapper?
« Reply #1 on: September 25, 2025, 09:47:41 PM »
The snapper must be a lineman, so his shoulders must be approximately parallel to the goal line. If he lines up "sideways", that's not legal. If he turns sideways prior to "snapping" the ball, that would be a false start. If the "quick continuous motion" of the snap results in him rotating a bit, ending up sideways after the ball is released, that's probably fine, but I'd have to see it.

Offline NVFOA_Ump

  • *
  • Posts: 4121
  • FAN REACTION: +107/-312
  • High School (MA & RI)
    • Massachusetts Independent Football Officials Association
Re: Formation/Snapper?
« Reply #2 on: September 26, 2025, 06:11:48 AM »
Team A lines up at the 3yd going for 2 they are in a swinging gate formation the snapper is at the end of the line he is positioned sideways when he snaps the ball is this legal?


He can snap sideways but as noted he must be legally positioned and lined up as a lineman.  See rules 2-32-9 and 2-32-14.
« Last Edit: September 26, 2025, 07:51:37 AM by NVFOA_Ump »
It's easy to get the players, getting 'em to play together, that's the hard part. - Casey Stengel

Offline Fatso

  • *
  • Posts: 305
  • FAN REACTION: +10/-20
  • Hey ref, call it both ways.......
Re: Formation/Snapper?
« Reply #3 on: September 26, 2025, 08:09:33 AM »
Team A lines up at the 3yd going for 2 they are in a swinging gate formation the snapper is at the end of the line he is positioned sideways when he snaps the ball is this legal?
Are you saying the snapper's shoulders are perpendicular to the line of scrimmage?  If so, no bueno.  ^flag