Author Topic: Clock Starting on a Free Kick  (Read 563 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline 000635547

  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • FAN REACTION: +0/-0
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Clock Starting on a Free Kick
« on: September 26, 2025, 06:50:40 PM »
Had a weekly video of selected plays come out from the state association. In one of the plays, K is free-kicking and R just . . . lets it got without making sure it was a touchback. Ball comes to rest at about the 5, K runs down and scoops it up thinking they just got a touchdown.

Now the main point of that clip was the classic "K can't advance a kick." While the narrator was discussing it, however, they also mention that the clock doesn't start when touched by K (clock operator started it at the apex of the kick, for no apparent reason), and no time should have ran off the clock. I've also heard this same thing, similar situation (K touching a grounded free-kick well past the 10-yard line, don't start the clock) in my local association this year.

My understanding is any touching (K or R) that is not First-Touching winds the clock. Since this was grounded and well beyond 10-yards, we would start the clock, even momentarily. It could have mattered, in this case, since the free-kick was with 0:03 left in the 2nd quarter; particularly if K got over excited and muffed the recovery. Anybody have clarification here?

Offline ilyazhito

  • *
  • Posts: 444
  • FAN REACTION: +14/-22
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Re: Clock Starting on a Free Kick
« Reply #1 on: September 26, 2025, 07:03:04 PM »
Only if R touches the kick will the clock start. If K recovers the kick, the ball immediately becomes dead, because they are not allowed to legally advance a kick.

Offline 000635547

  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • FAN REACTION: +0/-0
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Re: Clock Starting on a Free Kick
« Reply #2 on: September 27, 2025, 09:46:42 AM »
Sorry, I guess I have an unstated question of what's the rule reference to lead you that way? Because the only thing I'm finding to run off of is 3-4-3 "The game clock shall start with the snap or when any free kick is touched, other than first touching by K, if the game clock was stopped because . . ." This seems to imply K's touching can start the clock, as long as its not First Touching.

Offline NVFOA_Ump

  • *
  • Posts: 4121
  • FAN REACTION: +107/-312
  • High School (MA & RI)
    • Massachusetts Independent Football Officials Association
Re: Clock Starting on a Free Kick
« Reply #3 on: September 27, 2025, 10:08:53 AM »
Sorry, I guess I have an unstated question of what's the rule reference to lead you that way? Because the only thing I'm finding to run off of is 3-4-3 "The game clock shall start with the snap or when any free kick is touched, other than first touching by K, if the game clock was stopped because . . ." This seems to imply K's touching can start the clock, as long as its not First Touching.


The point here is that when K possesses an untouched free kick the ball is immediately dead by rule.  The clock should not run in those cases. 
It's easy to get the players, getting 'em to play together, that's the hard part. - Casey Stengel

Offline 000635547

  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • FAN REACTION: +0/-0
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Re: Clock Starting on a Free Kick
« Reply #4 on: September 27, 2025, 10:17:46 AM »
I agree with that, but it's not the question. I have a state and local association saying the clock can't run, even in the case of K muffs the recovery. That's what I can't find a rule reference to support, but I'm also concerned I'm missing something with two separate groups saying it.

Offline NVFOA_Ump

  • *
  • Posts: 4121
  • FAN REACTION: +107/-312
  • High School (MA & RI)
    • Massachusetts Independent Football Officials Association
Re: Clock Starting on a Free Kick
« Reply #5 on: September 27, 2025, 11:19:28 AM »
I agree with that, but it's not the question. I have a state and local association saying the clock can't run, even in the case of K muffs the recovery. That's what I can't find a rule reference to support, but I'm also concerned I'm missing something with two separate groups saying it.


If K muffs (touches - does not possess) a free kick beyond the R restraining line (kick has gone 10 yards) then the clock does start and one or more on-field officials should be giving the wind at that point.
It's easy to get the players, getting 'em to play together, that's the hard part. - Casey Stengel

Offline Fatso

  • *
  • Posts: 305
  • FAN REACTION: +10/-20
  • Hey ref, call it both ways.......
Re: Clock Starting on a Free Kick
« Reply #6 on: October 01, 2025, 01:04:14 PM »
Sorry, I guess I have an unstated question of what's the rule reference to lead you that way? Because the only thing I'm finding to run off of is 3-4-3 "The game clock shall start with the snap or when any free kick is touched, other than first touching by K, if the game clock was stopped because . . ." This seems to imply K's touching can start the clock, as long as its not First Touching.

During a free kick, If K touches the ball beyond R's restraining line is that considered first touching?  I realize they can recover the ball then but is it a spot of first touching? (probably not).  If not, then you might be right about the clock starting when K touches it except for first touching in the neutral zone.

Offline bama_stripes

  • *
  • Posts: 3114
  • FAN REACTION: +123/-27
Re: Clock Starting on a Free Kick
« Reply #7 on: October 02, 2025, 08:03:54 AM »
During a free kick, If K touches the ball beyond R's restraining line is that considered first touching?  I realize they can recover the ball then but is it a spot of first touching? (probably not).  If not, then you might be right about the clock starting when K touches it except for first touching in the neutral zone.

No, it’s not first touching, since K could legally recover the kick (assuming it’s also hit the ground).

Offline fudilligas

  • *
  • Posts: 166
  • FAN REACTION: +12/-6
Re: Clock Starting on a Free Kick
« Reply #8 on: October 03, 2025, 07:52:26 AM »
Sorry, I guess I have an unstated question of what's the rule reference to lead you that way? Because the only thing I'm finding to run off of is 3-4-3 "The game clock shall start with the snap or when any free kick is touched, other than first touching by K, if the game clock was stopped because . . ." This seems to imply K's touching can start the clock, as long as its not First Touching.

do not confuse first touching of a scrimmage kick with the ball being touched first on a free kick....they are 2 completely different situations

Offline bossman72

  • *
  • Posts: 2259
  • FAN REACTION: +306/-27
Re: Clock Starting on a Free Kick
« Reply #9 on: October 03, 2025, 09:09:09 AM »
Sorry, I guess I have an unstated question of what's the rule reference to lead you that way? Because the only thing I'm finding to run off of is 3-4-3 "The game clock shall start with the snap or when any free kick is touched, other than first touching by K, if the game clock was stopped because . . ." This seems to imply K's touching can start the clock, as long as its not First Touching.

You are reading correctly.
First touching occurs within the 10 yard NZ.
Say the kick is rolling at the B45 (15 yards past K's free kick line) and is muffed by K with 0:10 on the clock and is then subsequently recovered 2 seconds later by either team.  We would now have 0:08 on the clock.

Likewise, say the rolling kick is muffed by K at the A48 (8 yards beyond K's free kick line) and rolls out of bounds at the B45.  Clock would never start.

Offline TSHunt

  • *
  • Posts: 21
  • FAN REACTION: +5/-0
  • Back Judge / Referee
Re: Clock Starting on a Free Kick
« Reply #10 on: October 05, 2025, 10:31:00 AM »
Piggybacking off this a little:

Does touching precede a kick recovery like it does a catch?

K seemingly must touch the ball before possesing it, so I am wondering if the clock winds and then is stopped almost immediatley after.
In memory of everyone's favorite 30-yard penalty (19XX-2023)

Offline bossman72

  • *
  • Posts: 2259
  • FAN REACTION: +306/-27
Re: Clock Starting on a Free Kick
« Reply #11 on: October 05, 2025, 07:32:12 PM »
Piggybacking off this a little:

Does touching precede a kick recovery like it does a catch?

K seemingly must touch the ball before possesing it, so I am wondering if the clock winds and then is stopped almost immediatley after.

We've always interpreted it like this (typically for R, but would apply to K beyond 10 yards):

If a player fair catches a kick... no time comes off.
If a player recovers or catches a kick while on the ground... no time comes off.
If a player controls or touches a kick while off the ground prior to completing the catch/recovery process, then 1 second comes off.

In all of these scenarios, it assumes a clean catch/recovery. If there is a bobble, then you probably should take 1 second off.