Author Topic: Can force be applied to this scenario?  (Read 663 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline bmem66

  • *
  • Posts: 55
  • FAN REACTION: +0/-1
Can force be applied to this scenario?
« on: September 26, 2025, 09:36:16 PM »
Team A is punting from their 20 yard line the ball is tipped by team B at the line of scrimmage and the ball lands 20 yards past the LOS at the A40.  A B team player tries to gain possession of it and bobbles or muffs the ball, but never has clear possession, and while training to gain possession, the ball rolls back towards the line of scrimmage where a A38 takes possession of the ball on the a A32 yard line.  I ruled this as a muff and a recovery. Would the bobbling and muff by team B that pushed the ball back towards  the LOS for a total for 8 yards be considered a new force where team A could then advance it or is it purely just a muff where team A could take possession but not advance it?

Offline dch

  • *
  • Posts: 159
  • FAN REACTION: +10/-1
Re: Can force be applied to this scenario?
« Reply #1 on: September 26, 2025, 10:19:59 PM »
a kick is a kick is a kick until it isn't.  The kick didn't end until A recovered it.  As you said K gets to keep the ball, but not advance, since R touched the ball beyond the expanded neutral zone.  Regarding a new force --- that only applies to a grounded loose ball from the field of play to or across the goal line.

Offline ncwingman

  • *
  • Posts: 1410
  • FAN REACTION: +77/-15
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Re: Can force be applied to this scenario?
« Reply #2 on: September 27, 2025, 03:54:00 PM »
Team A is punting from their 20 yard line the ball is tipped by team B at the line of scrimmage and the ball lands 20 yards past the LOS at the A40.  A B team player tries to gain possession of it and bobbles or muffs the ball, but never has clear possession, and while training to gain possession, the ball rolls back towards the line of scrimmage where a A38 takes possession of the ball on the a A32 yard line.  I ruled this as a muff and a recovery. Would the bobbling and muff by team B that pushed the ball back towards  the LOS for a total for 8 yards be considered a new force where team A could then advance it or is it purely just a muff where team A could take possession but not advance it?

Force is only a factor for a ball entering the end zone from the field of play. Force is not a factor for a ball rolling from the A38 to A32.

A (well, K) can recover a scrimmage kick. The ball is awarded to K if R touched the kick beyond the (expanded) neutral zone first. A muff is an unsuccessful attempt at possession, but this intentional act is not required for R to simply touch the ball allowing K to retain possession. A ball bouncing off of R32's back is not a muff (he did not try to play the ball), but it is touching by R.

K can NEVER recover a kick beyond the neutral zone *and advance* . The kick ends when the ball is possessed (or declared dead by rule). If R possesses the kick, the kick ends and they can advance. If R then fumbles, K can recover and advance *the fumble*, but at that point it is no longer a kick.

Offline Fatso

  • *
  • Posts: 305
  • FAN REACTION: +10/-20
  • Hey ref, call it both ways.......
Re: Can force be applied to this scenario?
« Reply #3 on: September 29, 2025, 02:27:26 PM »
Quote
Would the bobbling and muff by team B that pushed the ball back towards  the LOS for a total for 8 yards be considered a new force where team A could then advance it or is it purely just a muff where team A could take possession but not advance it?
As the others said, this is not a force question since the goal line isn't in play.  The tip at line of scrimmage is ignored, just pretend that didn't happen. All you have here is a punt that was touched/muffed by R beyond the neutral zone.  K recovered it beyond the neutral zone so it's dead there but K keeps ball 1st and 10.  Had K recovered it behind the neutral zone after R touched it beyond the neutral zone, K could have advanced it as well.
« Last Edit: September 29, 2025, 02:47:02 PM by Fatso »

Offline bama_stripes

  • *
  • Posts: 3114
  • FAN REACTION: +123/-27
Re: Can force be applied to this scenario?
« Reply #4 on: September 30, 2025, 07:29:58 AM »
Had K recovered it behind the neutral zone after R touched it beyond the neutral zone, K could have advanced it as well.

It matters not whether anyone has touched the kick anywhere.  As long as a kick is recovered behind the NZ, anybody can advance.  The spot of recovery is the only factor.

What does matter is that if R touches the kick past the NZ, it will be 1/10 for whichever team is in possession at the end of the down.

Offline bmem66

  • *
  • Posts: 55
  • FAN REACTION: +0/-1
Re: Can force be applied to this scenario?
« Reply #5 on: September 30, 2025, 08:20:13 AM »
Had R muffed it and the ball went back behind the neutral zone, K can advance it but can they punt the ball again?

Offline ncwingman

  • *
  • Posts: 1410
  • FAN REACTION: +77/-15
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Re: Can force be applied to this scenario?
« Reply #6 on: September 30, 2025, 09:06:41 AM »
Had R muffed it and the ball went back behind the neutral zone, K can advance it but can they punt the ball again?

Hopefully only four plays later, at a minimum. Once R muffs the ball, if K recovers, it's 1st and 10 for K wherever the ball becomes dead in Ks possession (they don't need to be beyond the LTG). However, that doesn't preclude an over anxious punter not realizing that in the heat of the moment.

I believe it would be a legal kick. K is allowed to kick the ball from behind the neutral zone prior to a change of possession, so until R possesses the ball it's still in K's team possession - this is why PSK is a whole thing. We're enforcing those fouls *as if* R has the ball even though they do not. Unlike a forward pass, there's no explicit prohibition on a second kick during a down like a second forward pass.

Offline Fatso

  • *
  • Posts: 305
  • FAN REACTION: +10/-20
  • Hey ref, call it both ways.......
Re: Can force be applied to this scenario?
« Reply #7 on: September 30, 2025, 09:10:14 AM »
It matters not whether anyone has touched the kick anywhere.  As long as a kick is recovered behind the NZ, anybody can advance.  The spot of recovery is the only factor.

What does matter is that if R touches the kick past the NZ, it will be 1/10 for whichever team is in possession at the end of the down.
Yep, agreed.  I was trying to relate it to the OP question, but your explanation is simpler.  :thumbup

Offline Lt_Flag

  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • FAN REACTION: +0/-0
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Re: Can force be applied to this scenario?
« Reply #8 on: October 03, 2025, 06:26:43 PM »
It matters not whether anyone has touched the kick anywhere.  As long as a kick is recovered behind the NZ, anybody can advance.  The spot of recovery is the only factor.

What does matter is that if R touches the kick past the NZ, it will be 1/10 for whichever team is in possession at the end of the down.

The fun caseplay on this is when R muffs the kick beyond the LOS, K recovers behind the LOS, then K throws an incomplete pass. Result? 1st and 10 for K. Fun!

Offline bama_stripes

  • *
  • Posts: 3114
  • FAN REACTION: +123/-27
Re: Can force be applied to this scenario?
« Reply #9 on: October 04, 2025, 07:53:44 AM »
The fun caseplay on this is when R muffs the kick beyond the LOS, K recovers behind the LOS, then K throws an incomplete pass. Result? 1st and 10 for K. Fun!

For extra credit:  Where is K awarded the ball?

Offline Fatso

  • *
  • Posts: 305
  • FAN REACTION: +10/-20
  • Hey ref, call it both ways.......
Re: Can force be applied to this scenario?
« Reply #10 on: October 06, 2025, 07:25:49 AM »
For extra credit:  Where is K awarded the ball?

My guess is previous spot but really have no idea.

Throw another wrinkle in - what if K has IDP during said pass?

Offline bama_stripes

  • *
  • Posts: 3114
  • FAN REACTION: +123/-27
Re: Can force be applied to this scenario?
« Reply #11 on: October 06, 2025, 08:13:09 AM »
My guess is previous spot but really have no idea.

Throw another wrinkle in - what if K has IDP during said pass?

5-yard penalty from previous spot & replay 4th down.  Probably the easiest way to get yourself out of this mess!