In the Ohio State @ Washington game this past weekend, in the 1Q the Washington head coach was contacted in the white by a wing official. A flag was thrown and the foul was announced as sideline interference. Subsequently, the coach objected and was assessed an unsportsmanlike conduct foul.
It looks like, based on the new wording in 9-2-5.b, the first foul also should have been UNS rather than SLM, charged directly to the head coach since he could be readily identified. This would mean that the second foul would have, by rule, been his second UNS and he’d be ejected from the game. (I can only imagine the media’s reaction if this sequence resulted in the coach’s ejection.)
Is my understanding correct?