Author Topic: Safety fouls by A  (Read 350 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline BigWill

  • *
  • Posts: 35
  • FAN REACTION: +1/-1
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Safety fouls by A
« on: October 02, 2025, 08:42:54 AM »
Quarterback gets tacked in his own endzone he grabs Bs facemask as he is going down flag on A how is this penalty accessed? Does rule 8-3-2 apply to this?
« Last Edit: October 02, 2025, 08:49:17 AM by BigWill »

Offline bossman72

  • *
  • Posts: 2259
  • FAN REACTION: +306/-27
Re: Safety fouls by A
« Reply #1 on: October 02, 2025, 08:45:11 AM »
If you rule this a live ball foul, both the enforcement of the foul and the result of the play are a safety.  So it's a safety any way you slice it.
If you rule a dead ball foul, it's a safety, then the FMM is enforced on the kickoff half the distance to the 10.

Offline bama_stripes

  • *
  • Posts: 3114
  • FAN REACTION: +123/-27
Re: Safety fouls by A
« Reply #2 on: October 02, 2025, 08:54:48 AM »
Bossman is correct.  8-2-2 specifies that A has an enforcement option.  In this case, B is the scoring team.

Offline NVFOA_Ump

  • *
  • Posts: 4121
  • FAN REACTION: +107/-312
  • High School (MA & RI)
    • Massachusetts Independent Football Officials Association
Re: Safety fouls by A
« Reply #3 on: October 02, 2025, 03:34:44 PM »
Bossman is correct.  8-2-2 specifies that A has an enforcement option.  In this case, B is the scoring team.


Additionally, doesn't the wording of 8-2-2 specifically apply to a touchdown only?
It's easy to get the players, getting 'em to play together, that's the hard part. - Casey Stengel

Offline bama_stripes

  • *
  • Posts: 3114
  • FAN REACTION: +123/-27
Re: Safety fouls by A
« Reply #4 on: October 03, 2025, 07:42:37 AM »

Additionally, doesn't the wording of 8-2-2 specifically apply to a touchdown only?

Yep — “...during a down in which a touchdown is scored...”

Offline Ralph Damren

  • *
  • Posts: 4964
  • FAN REACTION: +872/-28
  • SEE IT-THINK IT-CALL IT
Re: Safety fouls by A
« Reply #5 on: October 09, 2025, 12:12:01 PM »
We once discussed tacking such a live ball to the succeeding spot on a play resulting in a safety. The strong general feeling was the safety - 2 points & the ball via a free kick - was penalty enough.