Author Topic: ING and 3-4-6  (Read 300 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Online zebrastripes

  • *
  • Posts: 210
  • FAN REACTION: +14/-11
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
ING and 3-4-6
« on: October 03, 2025, 02:12:18 PM »
Late in the game (less than 1:00 remaining) A is down 7 and driving to tie the score. On a first, second, or third down play QB A1 is under heavy duress and intentionally grounds a forward pass.

Are we all in agreement that, since we don’t have a 10-second runoff in FED, the Referee should invoke Rule 3-4-6 and start the clock on the ready?

Offline bama_stripes

  • *
  • Posts: 3114
  • FAN REACTION: +123/-27
Re: ING and 3-4-6
« Reply #1 on: October 03, 2025, 03:38:26 PM »
I would.  But I’d be sure that A’s coach & QB know that the clock will start on my whistle.

Online zebrastripes

  • *
  • Posts: 210
  • FAN REACTION: +14/-11
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Re: ING and 3-4-6
« Reply #2 on: October 03, 2025, 03:39:25 PM »
I would.  But I’d be sure that A’s coach & QB know that the clock will start on my whistle.
Absolutely. And give them a chance to call timeout if they have any left.

Offline bossman72

  • *
  • Posts: 2259
  • FAN REACTION: +306/-27
Re: ING and 3-4-6
« Reply #3 on: October 04, 2025, 11:05:07 PM »
I think it's only if he is trying to conserve time illegally you can go on the ready.  If he's avoiding a loss of yardage like in your play, then it should go on the snap.  I'd ask your interpreter if you should use 3-4-6 in this instance to go on the ready so everyone is consistent.  Here's a case play that talks about grounding when trying to spike it, which is obviously trying to conserve time.

3.4.7 SITUATION A: With time expiring inside the last two minutes in the second
or fourth period and A behind in the score, Al intentionally throws the ball
forward to the ground in order to stop the game clock. Al's action took place: (a)
immediately after receiving the snap while Al was lined up 3 yards deep; or (b)
immediately after receiving the snap; or (c) after Al delayed and throws an illegal
forward pass. RULING: In (a) and (b), the grounding is legal and the game clock
remains stopped until the subsequent snap. Illegal forward pass in (c), and the
game clock shall be started on the ready-for-play signal unless Team B chooses
to start the game clock on the snap. (7-5-2d EXCEPTION)

Online zebrastripes

  • *
  • Posts: 210
  • FAN REACTION: +14/-11
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Re: ING and 3-4-6
« Reply #4 on: October 05, 2025, 02:11:58 PM »
If it’s under a minute left (as OP indicates) in either half I think you can safely assume they’re trying to conserve time.

Offline animalspooker

  • *
  • Posts: 69
  • FAN REACTION: +1/-11
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Re: ING and 3-4-6
« Reply #5 on: Yesterday at 11:11:20 AM »
Is there not a rule saying, if under 2 minutes, a team in the lead, trying to run the clock out, commits a penalty...you start the clock at the snap.  Conversely, a team behind that's trying to save time, commits a foul, you start the clock at RFP?

Basically you benefit the offended team, as it pertains to the clock, when under 2 minutes?

Online zebrastripes

  • *
  • Posts: 210
  • FAN REACTION: +14/-11
  • Without officials... it is only recess.
Re: ING and 3-4-6
« Reply #6 on: Yesterday at 12:36:23 PM »
Is there not a rule saying, if under 2 minutes, a team in the lead, trying to run the clock out, commits a penalty...you start the clock at the snap.  Conversely, a team behind that's trying to save time, commits a foul, you start the clock at RFP?

Basically you benefit the offended team, as it pertains to the clock, when under 2 minutes?
The “under 2 minutes rule” only allows you to start the clock on the snap if it would otherwise start on the ready (the inverse is not true), at the option of the offended team. The relevant rule in this situation is 3-4-6 which grants the R broad authority to change the “normal” clock status (in this case, starting it on the snap) to prevent a team from benefiting by committing a foul.
« Last Edit: Yesterday at 01:47:35 PM by zebrastripes »