No issue with the award of the score, when nothing else happens that would offset that foul. Don’t care about any of that stuff.
I started this discussion because, in this same discussion on another forum (different rule set), the vast majority seemed hell-bent on passing on this illegal holding action, because of some ca ca reasons about the receiver being a potential blocker, yada yada. I want NCAA folks to fully understand that our rule is very clear:
Defensive players may use their hands and arms to push, pull, ward off, or lift offensive players:
1. When attempting to reach the runner.
2. Who are obviously attempting to block them.
This defensive player was, in no way, making an effort to reach a runner (or a loose ball). His first move was to grasp the receiver with both hands. Then, with no concern about the location of the ball or the ball carrier/runner, he pulled the receiver down, causing the receiver to stumble slightly, and leaving him bent down at the waist. The defender then - again with no reference to the ball or ball carrier/runner - used his left arm to shove the receiver to the ground, completely taking the receiver out of his pass pattern, and the pass play, in general.
The offensive receiver was, in no way, attempting to block the defensive player. In fact, his first move after the snap was to attempt to move AROUND the defender, using a weak ‘swim’ move with his right arm, just trying to get clear. In no way was he “obviously attempting to block” the defender. The receiver would have much preferred for the defender to just leave him alone, with no contact between the players.
So, with the receiver now laying on the ground, the passer threw the ball toward this “grounded” receiver. At this point, the defender looked back at the passer, and saw the ball flying toward him, leaped to intercept the ball, and began to return the ball.
There is absolutely nothing about this play that can excuse, forgive, or legitimize the defenders actions on the receiver.
As egregious as this defender’s actions were, had this been a simple off-tackle play inside, or something wide to the opposite side of the field, we could make the argument that it had no effect on the result of the down, and we could pass on calling this foul. Me, personally, early in the game (and a non-affected play inside or to the opposite side of the field, with no reference to the receiver), I could pass on this call, with a serious ‘talk to’ with the defender. DON’T DO THAT AGAIN, regardless of what kind of play it is.
But, on THIS specific down, this is HUGE defensive holding that must be seen and called.