We're primarily interested in getting the box in place. And yes, we do tell the coach that this is an official administrative stoppage so we can do the required things before we wind the game clock. There is 0 rule support for anything else. That is 100% the reason the clock is stopped to begin with.
Zero rules support? Not sure what rule book you are reading.
3-6-1-b-2: The ball is ready for play starting immediately after the ball has been ruled dead by a game official after a down, the ball has been placed on the ground by a game official and the game official has stepped away to position as in 3-6-1a(2).
Nothing in there says anything about the box needing to be in place. Additionally, there is an NFHS mechanics point of emphasis for 24-25 that says: “After a first down inbounds, the ready-for-play occurs when the ball has been spotted and the game official who spotted the ball has stepped away into position.
Under no circumstances should the ready be delayed if the chain crew is still moving and is not in position. In such a case, the linesman can drop a beanbag to mark the spot of the snap.”
Again, nothing about the box being in place and explicit guidance that a bean bag CAN be used to mark the original LOS. So if your state is giving you different guidance, that’s great, but acting like there isn’t NFHS support for dropping a bag is just wrong.
You’re going to have a really hard time when you get a box guy who hustles for the home team and loafs for the visitors. The visiting coach will rightfully be heated.