With the exception of targeting, is replay allowed to “create” an uncalled obvious penalty when reviewing a play?
The play in question happened at the 7:47 mark in the 3rd Q of the Alabama/Tennessee game. A’s QB was hit as he attempted to pass, and the ball came out. The crew left the play live, and B eventually recovered. The play was reviewed for fumble or incomplete pass, with replay upholding the on-field ruling.
However, while the ball was loose, a B player nonchalantly batted the ball, which (if called) would have given the ball back to A.
(If someone could link the play, I’d appreciate it.)