Author Topic: S-B Quiz No. 9  (Read 102 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Online ElvisLives

  • *
  • Posts: 4179
  • FAN REACTION: +184/-156
  • The rules are there if you need them.
S-B Quiz No. 9
« on: October 24, 2025, 04:47:03 AM »
Couldn't sleep, so I got up at 3:30 am and went to work on this. Who knows what kind of garbage I may be spewing.  :D
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

1. 3/1⁄2 yard @ A-44. With the clock running just before the snap, center A55 slides the ball forward so the ball is at the line to gain. The QB takes the snap and sneaks the ball to the A-45.
RULING:
A, 3/1/2, A-44, ready (25).
The snapper is not to be allowed to “adjust” the ball forward onto the line-to-gain or B’s goal line. In such a case, game officials shall stop play (attempting to prevent the snap), return the ball to its proper and true yard line location, and warn Team A and their head coach that further occurrences of such action will result in a foul for a false start.

 
2. 3/10 @ A-25. A88 catches a legal forward pass and fumbles when tackled after gaining nine yards. The fumble is recovered by grounded A24 five yards in advance of the fumble. During the pass, B54 is guilty of roughing the passer.
RULING:
A, 1/10, B-46, ready (25).
By rule, the 15-yard penalty for B54’s roughing the passer foul is added to the end of the LAST run, and includes a first down, if there is no change of team possession during the down. Officially, A24’s recovery of the ball is treated as a run, so the penalty is enforced 15-yards from the A-39, taking the ball to the B-46, where Team A is awarded a new scrimmage series.

 
3. 1/10 @ B-25. During the first possession series of the first extra period, B37 intercepts A12’s forward pass at the B-15 and has a clear field to the goal line when he makes an obscene gesture at the A-15 toward the nearest opponent.
RULING:
B, 1/10, EP40, no game clock (25).
By rule, the penalty for B37’s live-ball UNS foul cancels the score; Team A’s possession series is ended; and the 15-yard distance penalty is enforced at the succeeding spot (EP25), taking the ball to the EP40, where Team B’s possession series in the Extra Period will begin, 1/10. B37 has one UNS fouled added to his UNS foul counter.


4. 3/5 @ B-30. It is midway in the 3rd quarter with the clock running and both teams have all their timeouts remaining. With Team A at the line and ready to snap the ball, the Team A head coach requests a timeout, and the time out is granted. After the timeout, both teams are in formation, and the ball is ready for play. Just before the snap, A77 commits a false start. Both teams are back in formation with the ball ready for play and just before the play clock expires, the Team A head coach requests a timeout.
RULING:
A, 3/5, B-30, snap (25), i.e., play continues, OR, A, 3/10, B-35, ready (25).
The second request for a time out by Team A is during the same dead-ball period as the previously granted time out, and is not permitted. Game officials shall ignore the request for the time out. If the ball is not snapped before the play clock expires, Team A commits a foul for Delay of Game, and the 5-yard penalty is enforced at the succeeding spot, taking the ball to the B-35, where 3rd down will continue.


5. 3/10 @ B-30. Late in the 4th quarter with Team A trailing by 3 points and neither team has a timeout. Team A completes a pass over the middle and A88 is tackled inbounds at the B-15. B27 remains on the ground, and the Back Judge declares an official’s timeout for injury. There is 0:05 on the game clock. Play Clock?
RULING:
A, 1/10, B-15, snap (40).
By rule, even though the game clock was stopped for the first down, Team A is given the option for a 10-second subtraction from the game clock for the Team B injury, which Team A will obviously refuse. By rule, the play clock is set to 40-seconds, and will start on the referee’s signal, and the game clock will start on the snap.


6. 1/10 @ B-25. Team A snaps the ball with 12 seconds remaining on the game clock in the 4th quarter. QB A12 can find no receiver open, scrambles outside the tackle box and throws the ball away beyond the neutral zone and the play ends with 6 seconds remaining. The defense participated with 12 players on the field. Game clock and play clock?
RULING:
A, 1/5, B-20, 0:12 (4), snap (25).
Team B committed a foul for illegal substitution after the 2-minute time out; thus, the 5-yard penalty is enforced at the previous spot, and Team A has the option to restore the game clock to the time that was on the clock when the ball was snapped for the previous down (which, by the fact that they were attempting a pass on the previous down means that they are not ahead in score, and will obviously accept). The play clock is set to 25-seconds and will start on the referee’ signal. The game clock is set to 0:12, and will start on the snap.


7. 4/10 @ A-45. A91’s punt is untouched and is bouncing at the B-3. A33 blocks B21 into the ball, forcing it through the end zone and over the end line.
RULING:
B, 1/10, B-20, snap (40 and running).
Simple touching of the ball by Team B, as in this case, does not change the impetus on the ball, which remains with A91’s kick. By rule, when the ball goes out of bounds behind Team B’s goal line, the result is a touchback, and Team B is awarded a scrimmage series at the B-20. (Note that the touching of the ball by B21 was ‘forced’ by A33, and is ignored, anyway.)

 
8. Free Kick @ A-35. Team A and Team B line up in position and the Referee signals the ball ready for play. Team A has multiple green dot helmets on the field signifying that those players have radio receiving capability. The kick is fair caught at the B-5 by B21.
RULING:
B, 1/10, B-25 (center of the field, laterally, unless an alternate location between the hash marks is requested by Team B before the ball is ready for play), snap (40 and running).
There is no foul indicated during this down. Neither team is restricted in the number of players with C2P capable helmets who may participate during a free kick down. By rule, after a fair catch is made behind the B-25, Team B is awarded a scrimmage series at the B-25.


Offline Kalle

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3396
  • FAN REACTION: +114/-35
Re: S-B Quiz No. 9
« Reply #1 on: Yesterday at 09:00:27 AM »
1. 3/1⁄2 yard @ A-44. With the clock running just before the snap, center A55 slides the ball forward so the ball is at the line to gain. The QB takes the snap and sneaks the ball to the A-45.
RULING:
A, 3/1/2, A-44, ready (25).
The snapper is not to be allowed to “adjust” the ball forward onto the line-to-gain or B’s goal line. In such a case, game officials shall stop play (attempting to prevent the snap), return the ball to its proper and true yard line location, and warn Team A and their head coach that further occurrences of such action will result in a foul for a false start.

 

How is this different from A.R. 7-1-3-IV? I have dead ball false start, 3/5 1/2 @ A-39, ready (25).

Online ElvisLives

  • *
  • Posts: 4179
  • FAN REACTION: +184/-156
  • The rules are there if you need them.
Re: S-B Quiz No. 9
« Reply #2 on: Yesterday at 12:38:24 PM »
Kalle, 7-1-3-IV refers to the snapper moving the ball forward or lifting it as he begins the actual snapping movement, and that is a foul for an illegal snap, and is a dead-ball foul, without warning.
In the quiz question, they are talking about the snapper repositioning the ball on the ground, moving it forward, during his ‘adjustment’ of the ball when he assumes his position on the line and addresses the ball. Officiating Standards 2-11 (edited in 2024 for this) allows the snapper to move the ball forward no more than 1/2 yard, but NOT on (over) the line-to-gain or goal line. This ‘Standard’ dictates that, upon the first occurrence of such repositioning that is beyond what is to be allowed during a game, the game and play clocks are to be interrupted, the ball re-positioned to the correct spot, and both the snapper and the head coach warned, and that a False Start foul is to be “…considered…” for further occurrences of action beyond what is to be permitted by the ‘Standard.’
In the latest game situation video from Shaw, this exact scenario is presented from a recent game, and the crew did exactly what was prescribed by the ‘Standard,’ and Shaw praised them for their work.

Now, having presented that information, I will go on record as saying that this is yet another horrible interpretation from the NCAA. Allowing the snapper to re-position the ball forward ANY amount should never be allowed. We had no problem with this before this ‘standard,’ because, when/if we saw this early in a game, we would allow that one down to go on, then have a quick “talk to” with the snapper afterward, and let him know NOT to do that again, or we would penalize them. That always fixed the problem, and kept everything 100% within the rules. With this ‘standard,’ we must allow Team A to gain as much as 18” of field position on EVERY down. In these days of the “tush push,” especially, that 18” can make all the difference in the world, and places Team B at a very unfair disadvantage. Horrible. This kind of ‘tolerance’ from the NCAA is exactly why we have players wearing shorts, not using mouthpieces, making disgraceful displays of behavior that are demeaning to opponents and the game of football, and other things that are leading to the degradation of this sport. A very sad cultural shift which seems to parallel general social shifts in American culture. But now I’m talking politics, and I will stop right there.

Offline Kalle

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3396
  • FAN REACTION: +114/-35
Re: S-B Quiz No. 9
« Reply #3 on: Yesterday at 12:50:10 PM »
"just before the snap, center A55 slides the ball forward" sounds to me more like something done after addressing the ball, but I do take your point (I actually had completely missed the inclusion of the Officiating Standards into the rule book).