Author Topic: Kick after a Pass  (Read 5212 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ElvisLives

  • *
  • Posts: 4277
  • FAN REACTION: +185/-163
  • The rules are there if you need them.
Kick after a Pass
« on: October 23, 2018, 02:03:46 PM »
4/10, B-30, left hash mark, 5:05 (2) and running, A=10, B=7. 
A11's legal forward pass is caught by A88 at the B-29, where he is contacted, but not held, and forced back to the B-33.  Seeing no likelihood of being able to advance for a first down, A88 punts the ball from the B-33.  B90 is in position to catch the ball at the B-10 when A70 blocks B90 in the chest with his shoulder, causing B90 to fall to the ground before he could touch the ball.  The ball lands at the B-9, and bounds to the B-2, where A70 recovers the ball and falls to the ground in B's end zone.

Ruling (with clock status):

-----------

Not really difficult.
Robert

 
« Last Edit: October 24, 2018, 11:37:20 AM by ElvisLives »

Offline bossman72

  • *
  • Posts: 2278
  • FAN REACTION: +309/-29
Re: Kick after a Pass
« Reply #1 on: October 24, 2018, 08:13:28 AM »
Without my book handy.

Punt is legal.  It's not like passing the ball where you can't go beyond and come back.
KCI on A70 at the B10.
Result of the play sounds like momentum at the 2.

B 1/10 @ B25

Offline ElvisLives

  • *
  • Posts: 4277
  • FAN REACTION: +185/-163
  • The rules are there if you need them.
Re: Kick after a Pass
« Reply #2 on: October 24, 2018, 11:40:46 AM »
Without my book handy.

Punt is legal.  It's not like passing the ball where you can't go beyond and come back.
KCI on A70 at the B10.
Result of the play sounds like momentum at the 2.

B 1/10 @ B25

Well, rats.  I messed up again.  I meant to say A70 recovered the ball and fell into B's end zone.  See what difference that makes.

Robert

Offline bossman72

  • *
  • Posts: 2278
  • FAN REACTION: +309/-29
Re: Kick after a Pass
« Reply #3 on: October 24, 2018, 09:41:55 PM »
The result of the play is the same for me.  Dead ball spot is the 2 either way.  Unless I'm missing something...

Offline Kalle

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3414
  • FAN REACTION: +114/-35
Re: Kick after a Pass
« Reply #4 on: October 25, 2018, 05:00:22 AM »
I guess I'm missing something, too. It would be 1/10@B-25 even if A70 recovered in the end zone, as KCI is always a spot foul, never from the "succeeding" spot.

Offline ElvisLives

  • *
  • Posts: 4277
  • FAN REACTION: +185/-163
  • The rules are there if you need them.
Re: Kick after a Pass
« Reply #5 on: October 25, 2018, 06:50:12 AM »
No, nobody are missing anything.  I wasn’t intending to introduce ‘momentum’ into this play, which is why I corrected myself.
The pure result of the down is that the ball belongs to Team B at the B-2 (where it was recovered by A70, which is illegal touching).  But, then the 15 yard KCI penalty is enforced from the spot of the foul, the B-10, so B will next snap the ball at the B-25.

Not a hard question, except I messed up the “setup.”  Sorry.  Just making the point that a legal scrimmage kick is possible, although highly unlikely, following a pass and/or possession of the ball by A beyond the NZ.

Robert
« Last Edit: October 25, 2018, 06:54:05 AM by ElvisLives »

Offline bbeagle

  • *
  • Posts: 553
  • FAN REACTION: +14/-52
Re: Kick after a Pass
« Reply #6 on: October 25, 2018, 08:29:53 AM »
Punt is legal.  It's not like passing the ball where you can't go beyond and come back.

You are 100% allowed to go beyond the LOS and come back and throw a pass.

EDIT: Oops - thought this was the NFHS message section, not NCAA. Sorry.
« Last Edit: October 25, 2018, 08:33:16 AM by bbeagle »

Offline JasonTX

  • *
  • Posts: 2985
  • FAN REACTION: +113/-59
Re: Kick after a Pass
« Reply #7 on: October 25, 2018, 10:25:24 AM »
I remember one time we were discussing a "will never happen" play on here and then that same play ended up happening in the national championship game that year and the Referee was in on the discussion here.  He breezed right through the ruling on the field like it was an everyday play.