I have no personal info on this, but maybe someone else has.
A friend asked me about a play from a bowl game.
Try, B-3. B is offside (live-ball). A’s field goal attempt is unsuccessful. Referee makes an announcement something like, “The penalty is accepted, but the yardage is declined.” (Team A didn’t want to degrade the angle for the repeated field goal attempt.)
Ring any bells with anyone?
The problem is that, officially, Team A can not accept the penalty, but “decline the yardage.” However, 8-3-3-b-2 allows Team A to accept the penalty (completely), but have the ball placed anywhere behind the spot where the penalty leaves the ball. In 43 seasons, I’ve never had anyone request this - probably because they didn’t know they could. My guess is the Referee had never had it happen, either, so, on the spot, he may not have known what to announce. Maybe an announcement like, “The penalty is accepted, but the offense has invoked the privilege of having the ball placed at a point behind the spot where the penalty leaves the ball. The ball will be snapped at the three yard line.”
Very unusual situation.
Robert