Author Topic: Roughing the Kicker  (Read 31939 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Aussie-Zebra

  • *
  • Posts: 525
  • FAN REACTION: +8/-3
  • Australian Gridiron Officials Association
    • Gridironwest
Re: Roughing the Kicker
« Reply #25 on: December 22, 2010, 02:46:05 PM »
Quote
AR 9-1-4-VI

Kicker A1, in a scrimmage kick formation, moves laterally two or
three steps to recover a faulty snap, or recovers a snap that went
over his head and then kicks the ball. He is contacted by B2 in
an unsuccessful attempt to block the kick. RULING: A1 does not
automatically lose his protection in either case unless he carries the
ball outside the tackle box. While in the tackle box A1 is entitled
to protection as in any other kicking situation. When it becomes
obvious that A`1 intends to kick in a normal punting position,
defensive players must avoid him.  

After recovering a muffed snap how could anyone possibly assume a normal punting position when for certain there would be 1 or 2 defensive players bearing down on him ?
« Last Edit: December 22, 2010, 02:59:39 PM by Aussie-Zebra »
For every coach that thinks we got it wrong there's another that thinks we got it right.

chymechowder

  • Guest
Re: Roughing the Kicker
« Reply #26 on: December 22, 2010, 04:55:44 PM »
If you look at the ARs, they take Team B off the hook in two cases:

1. When Team A punts from a non-scrimmage kick formation
2. When Team A carries the ball outside the tackle box.

Neither of those apply here. (Yes, when the punter gains control of the ball he takes a step, and it is close to the tackle box. But clearly this doesn't fit the move of taking the ball outside the box like a runner.)

Moreover, there's an AR in which the punter muffs the snap; and he doesn't lose his protection by virtue of having muffed it.

As for "normal punting position":  recovering a muffed snap and then kicking it is not a departure from normal, in my opinion. I believe the phrase is intended to take away protection from the punter who takes the snap and cocks his arm as if to throw. Or starts running up the middle as if to attempt to make the line to gain.

I think it's incorrect to say that muffing a snap or recovering a bad snap means that it's no longer reasonably obvious that a kick will be made. Yes, the defense might tackle the punter before he has a chance to kick it. And good play by them if they do.  But it's twisting the logic to say: "Well, I thought I could prevent the kick, therefore it wasn't obvious that a kick would happen."  :o





Offline JasonTX

  • *
  • Posts: 2985
  • FAN REACTION: +113/-59
Re: Roughing the Kicker
« Reply #27 on: December 22, 2010, 07:07:57 PM »
Does anyone remember which bulletin it was that stated if the snap is muffed to outside the tackle box, that the kicker would then have to "re-establish" himself as a kicker?

Offline JasonTX

  • *
  • Posts: 2985
  • FAN REACTION: +113/-59
Re: Roughing the Kicker
« Reply #28 on: December 22, 2010, 07:17:40 PM »
Does anyone remember which bulletin it was that stated if the snap is muffed to outside the tackle box, that the kicker would then have to "re-establish" himself as a kicker?

Bulletin #1 from 2009 talks about a muffed ball recovered outside the tackle box.

Fourth and 10 at the A-10. A33 is in deep punt formation to receive the long snap. (a) A33 receives the snap, carries the ball outside the tackle box and (i) kicks the ball rugby-style on the run or (ii) establishes himself as a kicker and punts the ball in the normal fashion. (b) A33 muffs the ball which goes outside the tackle box, where he recovers, establishes himself as a kicker, and punts the ball in the normal fashion.   In all cases end B80 dives and crashes into A33’s plant leg immediately after the ball is kicked.
 
       RULING: (a) In both (i) and (ii) there is no foul for roughing the kicker because A33 carries the ball outside the tackle box before kicking. (b) Foul by B80 for roughing the kicker. A33 did not carry the ball outside the tackle box. First and 10 for Team A at the A-25. (9-1-4-a-5-b)

Mark uk

  • Guest
Re: Roughing the Kicker
« Reply #29 on: December 23, 2010, 05:11:55 AM »
My rational goes a follows: -

We are in an obvious kicking situation at the snap and team B know this therefore the kicker has protection until he loses it by his actions.
To lose protection in this scenario he must carry the ball outside the tackle box.
To me, carry means at least one complete pace in possession and my judgement from the video is that he does not do so. ^flag

Offline NCAA-SJ

  • *
  • Posts: 60
  • FAN REACTION: +6/-2
Re: Roughing the Kicker
« Reply #30 on: December 23, 2010, 07:58:32 AM »
#50 isn't a tackle, he's a guard.  The "tackle box" extends another 2-3 yards past #50's position, making it close to where the contact took place.

The tackle box is defined as 5 yards on either side of the snapper.  

It was my understanding, I have to look for it, that the tackle box is extended from the "middle lineman" NOT the snapper.  I am pretty sure there was a bulletin on this last year after the rulebook was printed(can anyone help me on this?)

If I am correct, then he IS outside the tackle box. 

Offline RedTD

  • *
  • Posts: 117
  • FAN REACTION: +5/-2
Re: Roughing the Kicker
« Reply #31 on: December 23, 2010, 08:40:38 AM »
It was my understanding, I have to look for it, that the tackle box is extended from the "middle lineman" NOT the snapper.  I am pretty sure there was a bulletin on this last year after the rulebook was printed(can anyone help me on this?)

If I am correct, then he IS outside the tackle box. 

Here is the appropriate memorandum:
NCAA Memorandum: Clarification of Blocking Zone and Blocking Below the Waist
Friday, September 04, 2009
 Input from several head coaches and discussions among coordinators of officials have
drawn attention to the need for clarification of the blocking rules as they relate to
player safety. Experience in the summer scrimmages demonstrated that action which was
illegal in 2008 had inadvertently and unintentionally become legal through the way in
which the blocking zone and blocking below the waist are defined in the 2009-2010 rule
book.  The clarification of the rules language below, which has the endorsement of the
coordinators of officials, is intended to clarify the committee’s intent regarding blocking
action that impacts the safety of the student athlete. This language appropriately frames
the blocking zone to account for an unbalanced line, and it also specifies in more detail
the restrictions for blocking below the waist by a player in the offensive backfield.
Clarification of Rule: Blocking Zone and Blocking Below The Waist
• Re-define blocking zone (2-3-6-a, FR-45)
“The blocking zone is a rectangle centered on the middle lineman of the offensive
formation and extending….”
(Bold-faced words replace “snapper”)
• Re-phrase the “crack-back” block rules (Rule 9-1-2-e-1 and 2, FR-117)
“1. Offensive linemen at the snap positioned more than seven yards from the middle
lineman of the offensive formation are prohibited…”
(Bold-faced words replace “snapper”)
“2. Backs at the snap positioned with the frame of their body completely outside the right
or left of the blocking zone or completely outside the frame of the body of the second
lineman from the middle lineman of the offensive formation in either direction toward
a sideline, or in motion at the snap…”
(Bold-faced words are new language) 
Thank you for your attention to this information. If you have any questions regarding this
memorandum, please contact secretary-editor Rogers Redding (rredding@sec.org).
Mike Bellotti, Chair NCAA Football Rules Committee
Rogers Redding, Secretary rules-editor NCAA Football Rules Committee

Offline NVFOA_Ump

  • *
  • Posts: 4169
  • FAN REACTION: +107/-328
  • High School (MA & RI)
    • Massachusetts Independent Football Officials Association
Re: Roughing the Kicker
« Reply #32 on: December 23, 2010, 08:59:08 AM »
I would suggest that we want to pay careful attention to detail here.  When the rules were rewritten there was a clear distinction drawn between the tackle box and the blocking zone.  In the current 2009-2010 rulebook they are not the same thing.  The referenced "clarification" memo was in regards to blocking action and the rule definition of the Blocking Zone.  The kicking rules use the term Tackle Box.  Note that they are not the same according to the current rules and the referenced memo notes some additional differences.  The Blocking Zone now uses the term "MIDDLE LINEMAN" (replacing the term SNAPPER) while the Tackle Box still has the "SNAPPER" in the middle.

[attachment deleted by admin]
« Last Edit: December 23, 2010, 08:52:39 PM by NVFOA_Ump »
It's easy to get the players, getting 'em to play together, that's the hard part. - Casey Stengel

Offline Aussie-Zebra

  • *
  • Posts: 525
  • FAN REACTION: +8/-3
  • Australian Gridiron Officials Association
    • Gridironwest
Re: Roughing the Kicker
« Reply #33 on: December 23, 2010, 10:17:55 AM »
Bulletin #1 from 2009 talks about a muffed ball recovered outside the tackle box.

Fourth and 10 at the A-10. A33 is in deep punt formation to receive the long snap. (a) A33 receives the snap, carries the ball outside the tackle box and (i) kicks the ball rugby-style on the run or (ii) establishes himself as a kicker and punts the ball in the normal fashion. (b) A33 muffs the ball which goes outside the tackle box, where he recovers, establishes himself as a kicker, and punts the ball in the normal fashion.   In all cases end B80 dives and crashes into A33’s plant leg immediately after the ball is kicked.
 
       RULING: (a) In both (i) and (ii) there is no foul for roughing the kicker because A33 carries the ball outside the tackle box before kicking. (b) Foul by B80 for roughing the kicker. A33 did not carry the ball outside the tackle box. First and 10 for Team A at the A-25. (9-1-4-a-5-b)

Does that imply that if the ball was recovered in the tackle box (within 5 yards of the snapper) that if (i) kicks the ball rugby-style on the run or (ii) establishes himself as a kicker and punts the ball in the normal fashion, then the kicker is therefore protected in both cases ?
« Last Edit: December 23, 2010, 10:20:01 AM by Aussie-Zebra »
For every coach that thinks we got it wrong there's another that thinks we got it right.

Offline Aussie-Zebra

  • *
  • Posts: 525
  • FAN REACTION: +8/-3
  • Australian Gridiron Officials Association
    • Gridironwest
Re: Roughing the Kicker
« Reply #34 on: December 30, 2010, 01:13:44 AM »
Quote
This is a judgment call just as in any other situation regarding the roughing or running-into foul.  That he kicks in a rugby manner changes nothing.  The key is whether it is obvious that a kick will be made, and the referee's judgment will take this into account.

Rogers Redding
Secretary-Rules Editor
NCAA Football Rules Committee
For every coach that thinks we got it wrong there's another that thinks we got it right.

The Ref Thats Lef

  • Guest
Re: Roughing the Kicker
« Reply #35 on: December 30, 2010, 04:52:56 AM »
So we have two potential politicians in one thread!!!!!

I agree with my countryman (With Two Flakes) that the kicker has done nothing to suggest he will not kick the ball and the defender must respect that. It is clear the NCAA give the kicker even more protection than a passer (we have a 5 yard penalty for bumping him from his position) and so I believe if in doubt you give the kicker the benefit.

I personally dislike Rogers Redding's answer as it gives no certainty and that leads to confusion as we can see from this thread there are lots of opinions. If we say that as long as he does nothing but kick the ball then everyone knows how the rule will be called. Alternatively if we say whenever the kicker does not immediately kick the ball after the snap we cannot have roughing again we have certainty. I would like Rogers to say one way or the other so we have clear guidance but without a clear statement we have to do what we believe is best.

I guess at present if any of us see this play on a field 50% will have roughing and 50% will have nothing.

Offline zebra99

  • *
  • Posts: 605
  • FAN REACTION: +30/-3
Re: Roughing the Kicker
« Reply #36 on: December 30, 2010, 09:19:41 AM »
first - I don't beleive he "carried" the ball outside the tackle box - second, we need not get too technical here, pure judgment by the R, was he "threatening" to run rather than kick or was he showing kick all they way after recovering the ball?  The intent of the carry out rule, as we all know, is the rugby style kicker who could easily turn the play into a run, thus no roughing the kicker protection.

I agree with the R on this one - he's right there and I see no action by the kicker that suggests his is not intent on kicking the ball after recovery.  We are told to err on the side of safety so the "debate" on this board, pushes me in that direction as well.

Offline TXMike

  • *
  • Posts: 8773
  • FAN REACTION: +229/-268
  • When you quit learning you quit living
Re: Roughing the Kicker
« Reply #37 on: December 30, 2010, 09:25:57 AM »
There are a few things (but not many) the NFL does better than us.  This is one of them.  In the NFL game, if the snap hits the ground, all bets are off.

Dommer1

  • Guest
Re: Roughing the Kicker
« Reply #38 on: December 30, 2010, 09:37:25 AM »
Agreed - that should be added to the present rule.

Offline bama_stripes

  • *
  • Posts: 3145
  • FAN REACTION: +124/-29
Re: Roughing the Kicker
« Reply #39 on: December 30, 2010, 12:39:44 PM »
There are a few things (but not many) the NFL does better than us.  This is one of them.  In the NFL game, if the snap hits the ground, all bets are off.
But do you really want to give the defense carte blanche if the punter is in deep kick formation & simply drops the ball, then immediately picks it up?

Dommer1

  • Guest
Re: Roughing the Kicker
« Reply #40 on: December 30, 2010, 01:12:46 PM »
He doesn't have carte blanche, but the beauty of the rule is that takes away a lot of judgement and makes it easier to be consistent.