Good call.
http://www.wfaa.com/news/local/Dallas-ISD-plans-UIL-protest-over-referees-call-135484058.html
At the 1:17 mark of the video it looks pretty clear, the official on the 50 made a great call as the Team A player reached and touched the ball on B's side of the 50 before grabbing ball and coming into possession. Beyond me what the Skyline folks are looking at to make them so confident ball was illegally touched. None of this changes the fact there were early blocks by Team A but the LEGAL touching is obvious.
I am going to have to disagee with you 2 on this one. Correct me if I am incorrect.
40yd - Umpire
45 - HL
50 - SJ
As soon as the ball is kicked, the HL slides in front of the SJ. Then when the ball is touched by SLC player and lands on the 49 the HL slides to the 49. At that point the SJ comes up and kills the clock.
Now my question is this...
WHO ACTUALLY MADE THE CALL? The HL or SJ?
If it was the SJ, how could he have a CLEAR VIEW on if the ball went 10yards if there is a 200lb HL standing right in front of him.
This is a horrible example of 5 man mechanic getting mixed up with 7th man mechanics.
The blocks before the the ball went 10 yards should have been caught by the HL, but he was sliding down in front of the SJ.
I honestly can not tell if it was the correct call or not, but what I can tell you is that the mechanics was screwed up.