Author Topic: Southlake-Skyline  (Read 35482 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

dpflank21

  • Guest
Southlake-Skyline
« on: December 12, 2011, 09:15:01 PM »
What's the point of illustrating the obvious mistakes in the story?


http://www.myfoxdfw.com/dpp/sports/hs_sports/hs-playoff-game-ends-in-controversy-121211

Offline clearwall

  • *
  • Posts: 758
  • FAN REACTION: +14/-13
Re: Southlake-Skyline
« Reply #1 on: December 12, 2011, 11:44:03 PM »
I agree it was the wrong call, but after their antics last week, isnt this just appropriate punishment?

Offline TXMike

  • *
  • Posts: 8770
  • FAN REACTION: +229/-266
  • When you quit learning you quit living
Re: Southlake-Skyline
« Reply #2 on: December 13, 2011, 04:11:17 AM »
http://www.wfaa.com/news/local/Dallas-ISD-plans-UIL-protest-over-referees-call-135484058.html

At the 1:17 mark of the video it looks pretty clear, the official on the 50 made a great call as the Team A player reached and touched the ball on B's side of the 50 before grabbing ball and coming into possession.  Beyond me what the Skyline folks are looking at to make them so confident ball was illegally touched.    None of this changes the fact there were early blocks by Team A but the  LEGAL touching is obvious.

Offline beaye1

  • *
  • Posts: 51
  • FAN REACTION: +0/-2
Re: Southlake-Skyline
« Reply #3 on: December 13, 2011, 06:36:54 AM »
Looking at the film I see an official at the 40 and one at the 45 before the start of the play.  Where's was the third one on Team B's restraining line?
« Last Edit: December 13, 2011, 06:41:38 AM by beaye1 »

Offline TXMike

  • *
  • Posts: 8770
  • FAN REACTION: +229/-266
  • When you quit learning you quit living
Re: Southlake-Skyline
« Reply #4 on: December 13, 2011, 07:36:41 AM »
He is there.  He is kind of bent over, hands on knees, looking right down the 50.  The guy on  the 45 unexplainable starts moving down and gets right in front of him.  But it is the guy at the 50 who came in indicating the ball was recovered and getting the spot.

Offline TxJim

  • *
  • Posts: 448
  • FAN REACTION: +18/-22
Re: Southlake-Skyline
« Reply #5 on: December 13, 2011, 09:46:27 AM »
Wow, there are some really ignorant people out there commenting on the story.  I especially laughed at this quote

rae23
I have ACTUAL pictures of players saying thier "daddy payed the refs more than your house is worth" thats not questionable ? Shut up your an idiot I highly doubt people would know the refs are being by the other team while they are playing. Idiot!



"I have ACTUAL pictures of players saying..."   LOL   
Sportsmanship is contagious - Let's have an epidemic!

Offline Etref

  • Administrator
  • ***
  • Posts: 2357
  • FAN REACTION: +87/-29
  • " I don't make the rules coach!"
Re: Southlake-Skyline
« Reply #6 on: December 13, 2011, 11:11:49 AM »
Someone correct me if I am wrong, but I do not believe there is a way to overturn the game results based on a UIL protest ( other than illegal player).
" I don't make the rules coach!"

Offline houstonjaguar

  • *
  • Posts: 19
  • FAN REACTION: +1/-0
Re: Southlake-Skyline
« Reply #7 on: December 13, 2011, 11:13:05 AM »
Good call.

Offline Neckbone

  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • FAN REACTION: +0/-0
Re: Southlake-Skyline
« Reply #8 on: December 13, 2011, 11:16:19 AM »
Just an FYI, that is not an Austin crew in the SLC game.  What are they doing at the 45?  That is a mechanic I have never seen.

Offline TXMike

  • *
  • Posts: 8770
  • FAN REACTION: +229/-266
  • When you quit learning you quit living
Re: Southlake-Skyline
« Reply #9 on: December 13, 2011, 11:20:17 AM »
7 man crew  Short free kick mechanics   

BP1911

  • Guest
Re: Southlake-Skyline
« Reply #10 on: December 13, 2011, 11:28:20 AM »
Good call.
http://www.wfaa.com/news/local/Dallas-ISD-plans-UIL-protest-over-referees-call-135484058.html

At the 1:17 mark of the video it looks pretty clear, the official on the 50 made a great call as the Team A player reached and touched the ball on B's side of the 50 before grabbing ball and coming into possession.  Beyond me what the Skyline folks are looking at to make them so confident ball was illegally touched.    None of this changes the fact there were early blocks by Team A but the  LEGAL touching is obvious.


I am going to have to disagee with you 2 on this one.  Correct me if I am incorrect.

40yd - Umpire
45 - HL
50 - SJ

As soon as the ball is kicked, the HL slides in front of the SJ.   Then when the ball is touched by SLC player and lands on the 49 the HL slides to the 49.   At that point the SJ comes up and kills the clock.

Now my question is this...

WHO ACTUALLY MADE THE CALL?  The HL or SJ?

If it was the SJ, how could he have a CLEAR VIEW on if the ball went 10yards if there is a 200lb HL standing right in front of him.

This is a horrible example of 5 man mechanic getting mixed up with 7th man mechanics.

The blocks before the the ball went 10 yards should have been caught by the HL, but he was sliding down in front of the SJ.

I honestly can not tell if it was the correct call or not, but what I can tell you is that the mechanics was screwed up.

« Last Edit: December 13, 2011, 02:30:49 PM by BP1911 »

Offline houstonjaguar

  • *
  • Posts: 19
  • FAN REACTION: +1/-0
Re: Southlake-Skyline
« Reply #11 on: December 13, 2011, 11:43:59 AM »
I agree that the blocks were early and that the mechanics were not good.  I was just stating the fact that the ball DID break the plane of the 50 before it was touched.  Also, the HL was not standing DIRECTLY in front of him as the ball breaks the plane of the 50.
« Last Edit: December 13, 2011, 11:46:30 AM by houstonjaguar »

Offline Neckbone

  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • FAN REACTION: +0/-0
Re: Southlake-Skyline
« Reply #12 on: December 13, 2011, 11:50:29 AM »
I need to correct myself.  It was an Austin crew.  Sorry

BP1911

  • Guest
Re: Southlake-Skyline
« Reply #13 on: December 13, 2011, 11:54:21 AM »
OK Sir,

I just watched the film again.  At the time of the touch the HL was standing in front of the SJ.  When the kid landed on the 49, the HL then slid to the 49.

FILM DOESN'T LIE!

Mr. Jaguar, there is no way possible unless you have a camera on the field mounted on the 50 yd line that anyone can 100% tell that this AIRBOURNE ball went 10 yards.

The SJ on this FILM actually has to wait until the HL moves out of the way before he comes up.  Now look across the field... the LJ does the same thing to the FJ.

Again FILM DOESN'T LIE!

Can you tell me if the SJ even made the call?  Or did the HL since he was actually on the 50 yard line?

I am NOT saying the call was correct or incorrect.
« Last Edit: December 14, 2011, 01:47:52 PM by BP1911 »

Offline JasonTX

  • *
  • Posts: 2980
  • FAN REACTION: +113/-59
Re: Southlake-Skyline
« Reply #14 on: December 13, 2011, 12:48:50 PM »
My view of the video is that the ball hits the ground at the 49.5 yard line and takes a forward bounce.  The SLC player jumps and grabs the ball that is likely beyond the 50 and then his momentum carries him backwards and lands at the 49.  Remember, it's where the ball was first touched that counts.  I say it was touched after going 10 yards and the recovery was made at the 49.  Legal recovery.  The blocking should be the only discussion on this play.

Offline TXMike

  • *
  • Posts: 8770
  • FAN REACTION: +229/-266
  • When you quit learning you quit living
Re: Southlake-Skyline
« Reply #15 on: December 13, 2011, 12:51:44 PM »
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fJVN3kMiTuA

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3dZB39MOeYk

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sx8IsiVJ75Q


From looking at all 3 videos and trying to tie them together in my feeble mind, it appears the S made the call.  How he did that with his "partner" sliding in front of him is beyond me but perhaps because he started pretty far back  plus the touching was high in the air.  So maybe that allowed him to see better.  The 2d link above shows it is a black official who is coming in to get the spot and concentrating hard on it.  He is the one who judged the touch legal IMHO.  Look at the first video above and you see the S emerging from the crowd (I told you started way back) as the other zebra was moving to the 50.
« Last Edit: December 13, 2011, 01:02:39 PM by TXMike »

BP1911

  • Guest
Re: Southlake-Skyline
« Reply #16 on: December 13, 2011, 01:08:18 PM »
TX Mike,

On the following link:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fJVN3kMiTuA

Check out the :48 sec mark.
SLC kid feet are on the 50 yard line and he jumps back toward the ball to catch it..   So lets all agree that they ball did NOT go 11 yards, maybe 10 exactly.

It is easy for us to judge someone when we have access to film/reply.  Real time, the SJ had to make a call and did the best to his ability.  The HL did not make it easy on him by sliding in front of the SJ.



« Last Edit: December 13, 2011, 01:13:27 PM by BP1911 »

Offline TXMike

  • *
  • Posts: 8770
  • FAN REACTION: +229/-266
  • When you quit learning you quit living
Re: Southlake-Skyline
« Reply #17 on: December 13, 2011, 01:20:30 PM »
Agree  Ball did not go 11 yards.  But sure looks like it went 10 yards and 6 inches or so    ;D

Offline fencewire

  • *
  • Posts: 439
  • FAN REACTION: +20/-74
Re: Southlake-Skyline
« Reply #18 on: December 13, 2011, 01:30:18 PM »
I see Paris, I see France, I see your BUTT in my face..


Offline TXMike

  • *
  • Posts: 8770
  • FAN REACTION: +229/-266
  • When you quit learning you quit living
Re: Southlake-Skyline
« Reply #19 on: December 13, 2011, 02:23:04 PM »
Dude that is priceless!!!!   I hope you are not putting a copyright on that cause that image is going to be heavily used durign spring and summer clinics here GUARANTEED!!!

Offline houstonjaguar

  • *
  • Posts: 19
  • FAN REACTION: +1/-0
Re: Southlake-Skyline
« Reply #20 on: December 13, 2011, 02:43:23 PM »
So BP you're telling me that in the WFAA video you cannot tell that the ball is past the 50 when it is touched?  The camera is basically ON the 50, and the ball goes beyond the line.  At that moment, the H is still at the A49 and hasn't gotten his body in front of the S.

Offline fencewire

  • *
  • Posts: 439
  • FAN REACTION: +20/-74
Re: Southlake-Skyline
« Reply #21 on: December 13, 2011, 02:59:03 PM »
Dude that is priceless!!!!   I hope you are not putting a copyright on that cause that image is going to be heavily used durign spring and summer clinics here GUARANTEED!!!

officials world wide may use at their leisure...

BP1911

  • Guest
Re: Southlake-Skyline
« Reply #22 on: December 13, 2011, 03:33:08 PM »
So BP you're telling me that in the WFAA video you cannot tell that the ball is past the 50 when it is touched?  The camera is basically ON the 50, and the ball goes beyond the line.  At that moment, the H is still at the A49 and hasn't gotten his body in front of the S.


Mr. Fencewire just posted a photo showing the HL standing right in front of the SJ before the ball was touched by SLC #4.

PHOTOS DON'T LIE EITHER!   ;D

As TXMike states it may have gone 10yd 6inches and it was close (Agreed).  In no way am I stating the SJ made the incorrect call, but my view is this:

#1.  The HL is in the way and out of position
#2.  The SJ does NOT have a clear view
#3.  It is NOT clear or is there any video evidence to prove or disprove the ball went 10yds IMHO



Offline Arbitrator

  • Chief Manor Road Pig Poker
  • *
  • Posts: 687
  • FAN REACTION: +7/-10
Re: Southlake-Skyline
« Reply #23 on: December 13, 2011, 03:34:19 PM »
 ^flag

My! My! It would certainly appear that the one common denominator in all those games where severe problems ensued was that those particular chapters got to assign the games after having gotten the official call from the  :!# Dancing Monkey of Manor Road!

This trend might well start to be circumvented in the future if those teams that normally call the  :bOW  tiphat: Manor Road office start choosing their chapters and officials and begin short-circuiting the inherent UIL politics!  z^
« Last Edit: December 14, 2011, 08:33:48 AM by Arbitrator »

Offline mccormicw

  • *
  • Posts: 295
  • FAN REACTION: +3/-4
Re: Southlake-Skyline
« Reply #24 on: December 13, 2011, 04:31:23 PM »
Photos don't lie only because they can't talk or type.  How do we "know" that pic is from the exact moment the ball was touched.  The first picture I have attached is when I determined the ball was first touched and is "a bit" different than the other picture.  I am not telling you I got it right and the other picture is wrong, I am just saying the previous picture is not definitive.  There is no way of telling what the S can or can't see any better than we can definitively tell if the ball went 10 yards.  Is it possible that the F came in a verified that the ball was touched after it went 10 yards?  Is it possible that the S looked at the F before ruling to verify that the ball went 10 yards? 

The second picture i attached should at least show that blocking (or holding) was occuring by A before the ball went 10 yards. 

[attachment deleted by admin]