Looking for help in clearing up confusion on the untimed down rule. Here is a play that happened this year.
Here's the situation... with :40 left in the 1st quarter the offense on 1st down has a foul free running play that ends inbounds, on 2nd down before the ball is snapped, with clocking running, the offense commits a dead ball false start, we stopped the clock enforced the yardage and wound the clock to replay 2nd down, the offense then has another false start which we stopped the clock again enforced the yardage and by this time there is :16 seconds left in the quarter, we wound the clock again and the offense allowed the clock to run out and the quarter ended.
We did not have an untimed down and we were told that we should have.
...our conversation on the field was that because it was not an accepted "live ball" foul the quarter can end without an untimed down..
what's the official ruling (were we correct or should we have had an untimed down)?
Please supply NFHS rule/case play references.
Thanks in advance and Happy New Year to all.